The 2001 Canadian Formula Ford Championship kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Mosport International Raceway. This event is followed by the biggest race on the series calendar - the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. The Montreal round will take place in front of over 100,000 spectators and the winner will receive a cheque for $7,000. The championship returns to Mosport at the end of June to support the CASCAR series. Round four is on Canada Day at Autodrome St-Eustache followed by the series only doubleheader weekend at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The next event takes place at Mosport in conjunction with the American Le Man Series. The championship concludes in late September with a second visit to Autodrome St-Eustache.

To attract participants and spectators, there are new sponsors, venues and a TV package. A.N. Deringer has signed a two-year contract to become the presenting sponsor. Also joining the championship are Ansell Healthcare Canada, Autosport Basi Racing School and Team Players. Some of the returning supporters include Ford Canada, Hankook Tires and Cardinal Watches.

The television coverage will be provided by CTV Sportsnet and RDS. They will broadcast five magazine-type shows starting in the Fall. Each thirty-minute program will feature race coverage, interviews with drivers and team owners, behind the scenes segments and technical reviews.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec fuel from Imperial Oil (Esso) and a spec tire (Hankook Z2000).

The seventh race of the 2001 Canadian Formula Ford Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway during the American Le Mans Series weekend. Drivers would race around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course for fifteen-laps.

The start of the penultimate round for the 2001 Canadian Formula Ford Championship. Leading the field into Mosport International Raceway’s corner one is the second-fastest qualifier, Mark Wilkins, in the No. 34 AIM Motorsports Aero II. Behind Wilkins is the pole-winning Van Diemen RF01 of Andy Brumbaugh. Chasing Brumbaugh are the second-row starters, David Lopez and Edouard Aube.
Rookie sensation, Andy Brumbaugh, scored his third Canadian Formula Ford Championship victory of the season at Mosport International Raceway. Brumbaugh put the No. 86 Key Motorsport prepared Van Diemen RF01 on the pole. He would fall to second at the start of the race but move into the lead before the end of the first lap. Once out front, Brumbaugh was never challenged and won by a margin of 1.238-seconds.
Round four winner, Mark Wilkens, started on the outside of the front row in the No. 34 AIM Motorsports Aero II. Wilkens shot into the lead after the starting start but could not hold-off Key Motorsport’s Andy Brumbaugh. During the contest, he traded second-place with the Adams Racing Van Diemen RF92 of David Lopez on numerous occasions. A last-lap pass gave Wilkens a runner-up result.
One of the many talented rookies in this year’s Canadian Formula Ford Championship was Mexican David Lopez. Lopez’s performance was improving with each event. In round seven at Mosport International Raceway, Lopez put the No. 52 Adams Racing Van Diemen RF92 third on the starting grid. He battled with Mark Wilkens during the race for second-place but would capture the final position on the podium.
If you were only going to win one race this season on the Canadian Formula Ford Championship calendar, it would be round two a Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. And, that is what Josh Beaulieu did – he grabbed the victory in front of the series largest crowd and earned the biggest payday. Beaulieu started race seven in the seventh position. A solid run netted the driver of the No. 12 Vector MG-93 a fourth-place finish.
Local competitor, Brett Osler, used a regional race the previous weekend at Mosport International Raceway to set-up the No. 57 EDJ Packaging sponsored Van Diemen RF92. During the qualifying session, Osler recorded the eleventh fast time. In the race, he maneuvered his way to the front and was in fifth-place at the checkered flag. During the contest, Osler set the fastest race lap.

11Andy BrumbaughVan Diemen RF01Key Motorsport15-
22Mark WilkinsAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
33David LopezVan Diemen RF92Adams Racing15-
47Josh BeaulieuVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
511Brett OslerVan Diemen RF92EDJ Packaging15-
65Jesse MasonVan Diemen RF00Britain West15-
79Josh SchreiberAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
84Edouard AubeVan Diemen RF01Britain West15-
910Jean-Sebastien BedardVan Diemen RF01Key Motorsport15-
106Louis-Philippe DumoulinVan Diemen RF90CHB Forest15-
118Jean-Francois DumoulinVan Diemen RF94Basi Autosport15-
1213Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec15-
1312Brian NielsonVan Diemen RF92Classic Computer Service15-
1415Jean-Philippe PapineauCMVEquipe de Course Mahoney15-
1516Eric ParadisVan Diemen RF97Dynamic15-
1617Serge BeaudinEuroSwift SC92Scuderia LM15-
1719Jim HallmanVan Diemen RF98Hallman Racing15-
1818Melanie PatersonVan Diemen RF97Adams Racing15-
1920Dan DenisonVan Diemen RF98Denison Consulting15-
2021Steve PickeringVan Diemen RF90Transmission Unlimited15-
2114Gerry KavanaughVan Diemen RF91EDJ Packaging13Did Not Finish
2222Robert BoyerVan Diemen RF97Basi Autosport0Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.