2000 was the seventh year for the Sports Car Club of America’s Pro Spec Racer championship. The car used in the series was the very popular Spec Racer Ford. This affordable, low maintenance, purpose-built vehicle is the popular category at Sports Car Club of America club racing events and attracts large fields with close racing. The Pro Spec Racer championship receives support from BF Goodrich Tires and the Ford Motor Company.

The 2000 season consists of eleven race weekends at ten different venues. Each contest is approximately fifty-miles in length. The year opens in March with a doubleheader at Phoenix International Raceway. Teams travel north of the border for round three at Mosport International Raceway. During the first weekend of June, the series visits the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course as a support event for the Grand-Am series. Next on the calendar is a race at Pikes Peak International Raceway. Following the event in Colorado, teams stop at Hallett Motor Racing Circuit and Memphis Motorsports Park. Pro Spec Racer competitors return to Canada, running an event at Ste. Croix in conjunction with the Speedvision World Challenge championship. Round nine, a month after Ste. Croix is held at Lime Rock Park. The penultimate event is at the end of October at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway. The year ends at the San Diego Grand Prix, which was a mid-season addition to the schedule.

The Spec Racer Ford is a single-seat, open-cockpit tube-frame chassis sports racer manufactured by SCCA Enterprises in Colorado. The cars are identical and powered by a sealed four-cylinder, SOHC, 1.9-liter Ford engine with a five-speed transmission. This combination produces 105-horsepower and a top speed of 135-mph. The suspension uses a rocker arm design (front and rear) with coil-over shocks on each corner and adjustable front and rear sway-bars.

The penultimate round of the 2000 Pro Spec Racer series was held at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Round ten was part of the Grand Prix of Las Vegas presented by enjoythedrive.com. Drivers competed on the 2.52-mile ‘roval’ layout for twenty-laps.

After coming close on many occasions, Bobby Sak finally scored his first Pro Spec Racer victory. He qualified second fastest. Sak grabbed the lead on lap-1 when the pole-sitter, Lee Fleming, spun in the turn one chicane. He could not hold off a challenge from Chris Funk and lost first place on the seventh circuit. On lap-10, Sak was back out front and despite pressure from Funk and Warren Stilwell, he won.
Despite scoring four victories, Warren Stilwell entered round ten at Las Vegas Motor Speedway second in the title chase. Stilwell was the third-fastest driving the No. 28 Stilwell Racing Ford Spec Racer during the qualifying session. In the race, he battled with Bobby Sak and Chris Funk. On the final lap, Stilwell closed in on the leader, Sak, but finished second by a margin of 1.027-seconds. The result gave him the championship lead.
Chris Funk was victorious in round seven at Memphis Motorsports Park but was not a title contender as he did not participate at Pikes Peak International Raceway and Hallett Motor Racing Circuit. At the Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Funk was fourth fastest in the qualifying session. He found himself in a three-way fight for the lead with Bobby Sak and Warren Stilwell in the race. Funk would lead three laps but finished third.
West coast competitor, Lee Fleming, opened the doubleheader at Phoenix International Raceway with a pole position and a victory. Unfortunately, the next day he finished a distant twenty-third. Fleming did not enter another round until race ten at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. He put the No. 12 Champion Motorsports Spec Racer Ford on the pole. Unfortunately, he spun on lap one but fought back to finish ninth.
Carl Harris’ season entering the penultimate round at Las Vegas Motor Speedway included seven top-ten finishes, of which three landed him on the podium. But a twenty-second place result at Mosport International Raceway and failing to enter Mid-Ohio meant he wasn’t a title contender. Harris qualified six fastest at Las Vegas in the No. 69 Four Seasons Radiator Spec Racer Ford and finished in fourth place.
The first lap of round ten for the 2000 Pro Spec Racer series at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. The No. 8 Tibor Marketing & Development Spec Racer Ford of Neil Tibor follows the championship points leader, John Black. Tibor was gridded in the seventh position for the start of the twenty-lap contest. During the race, he was able to pass Black and was elevated a position when Lee Fleming spun. Tibor finished in the fifth spot.

12Bobby SakDon Sak Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
23Warren StilwellStilwell Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
34Chris FunkPearl St Brewery / Spec Racer Ford20-
46Carl HarrisFour Seasons Radiator / Spec Racer Ford20-
57Neil TiborTibor Marketing & Development / Spec Racer Ford20-
78Johnny MeriggiGreat Expectations / Spec Racer Ford20-
85John BlackAscent Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
99Seainn HendricsenH-Square Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
101Lee FlemingChampion Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford20-
1011Keith ScharfHunt Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
1118Steve RehkemperJohn Bowden Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
1214Mark EatonRobinson Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
1315Charlie ShearsW/S Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
1412Paul MarinoChampion Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford20-
1525Richard DotyFast Cat Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
1622Paul (Ed) RabyChampion Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford20-
1721Marty WilliamsChampion Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford20-
1824Doug StewartTeam Widget Competition / Spec Racer Ford20-
1910John BowdenJB Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
2026Tom MiserendinoTeam Widget / Spec Racer Ford20-
2120Steve OttLaRue Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
2231Reid JohnsonGoSpotRun / Spec Racer Ford20-
2336Phil Fogg, Sr.Fogg Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
2434Ralph MayfieldRPM Autosports / Spec Racer Ford20-
2529Dan MillerNorth Sky Communications / Spec Racer Ford20-
2633Duane CorleyBar-D-Ranch / Spec Racer Ford20-
2717Johnny Santo-SpiritoSpirito Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
2827Robey ClarkKC Racing / Spec Racer Ford20-
2930Richard YoungTeam Widget / Spec Racer Ford20-
3032Gary JensenGoSpotRun / Spec Racer Ford20-
3140Donald KahnMotion Dynamics / Spec Racer Ford20-
3223Niki LaRueLaRue Racing / Spec Racer Ford19Mechanical
3341Andy CarlinoAchievement Dynamics / Spec Racer Ford19-
3442Morry GoldsteinGoldstein Racing / Spec Racer Ford19-
3538Budd SeverinoG&S Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford19-
3639Howard (Duck) AllenFlat-Out / Spec Racer Ford19-
3735Dana MooreDana Moore Racing / Spec Racer Ford17-
3837Ronald JacobsWestern Eagle Racing / Spec Racer Ford4Accident
3928Denny FosdickTeam Widget / Spec Racer Ford2Mechanical
4013TJ AckerCompetition Express / Spec Racer Ford1Mechanical
4116Bill JuchaJucha Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford0Accident
4243J. Ronnie BledsoeRobinson Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford0Accident
4319Paul deAlvaLaRue Motorsports / Spec Racer Ford0Mechanical

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.