The World Challenge series was divided into two separate classes – World Challenge GT and World Challenge Touring. The series featured production based cars modified for racing. The races for both classes were 50-minutes in length.

In 2000 World Challenge series organizers decided to make a number of changes to the series in an effort to attract car enthusiasts and to copy the success of European Touring Car series:

  • Aligning with trends in the automotive aftermarket competitors were allowed to use larger wheels and tires (up to 18-inches in GT and up to 17-inches in Touring), spec rear wings and more aerodynamic bodywork.
  • Also introduced for 2000 was standing starts.

The series also boasted larger purses and a great television package as the result of sponsorship from Speedvision. All these factors attracted bigger fields - at some events as many as 80-cars were entered for the two classes.

The Touring Car Championship was dubbed 'The Official Racing Series of the Sports Compact Revolution.' It featured the Acura Integra Type R, Audi A4, BMW 328, Ford Focus and Contour, Honda Accord, Civic Si and Prelude Si, Mazda Protege and 626, Mercury Cougar, Mercedes-Benz 230, Nissan 240 SX, Pontiac Sunfire, Saturn SC, Toyota Celica GT and Volkswagen GTI and Jetta.

Hugh Plumb started on the pole in the No. 43 RealTime Acura Integra Type R. At the outset he was passed by TC Kline teammates Mike Fitzgerald and Neil Sapp. On lap-14 Alfred duPont challenged Fitzgerald for the lead and the pair slid wide. This allowed Plumb to take the lead and win the race by a margin of 1.326-seconds – his second victory of the season.
Alfred duPont was able to capitalize on the momentum of his first World Challenge Touring win at Laguna Seca. DuPont started seventh in his European Racing Technologies BMW 328is and contended for the lead until contact relegated him to a second place finish. During the event, he set the fastest race lap.
Neal Sapp qualified fourth but followed teammate Fitzgerald at the start and found himself running second for much of the event. He was passed by Alfred duPont and despite a number of attempts, he was unable to pass him and finished third. This was enough for Sapp to clinch the 'Rookie of the Year' award. He would also win the season finale at San Diego.
Will Turner qualified third in the Turner Motorsports BMW 328is and was racing with the lead group until he made contact with Alfred duPont. After the spin, Turner fell to twenty-ninth but was able to work his way up to fourth at the finish. His efforts earned him the Borla Performance Award - given to the driver who delivers the drive of the day.
In the last half of the season, Mike Fitzgerald was one of the hottest drivers. At the Road Atlanta, he became the first driver in World Challenge history to win GT and Touring races on the same weekend. This did not go unnoticed by the competition and in the final races of the series he appeared to get beat up on a regular basis – Las Vegas was no exception - he retired with a broken oil cooler.
It was an eventful race for series point’s leader Pierre Klienubing. He qualified the RealTime Acura Integra Type R sixth and finished fourth. Going into the finale at San Diego there was a mathematical chance that he could lose the championship to rookie Neal Sapp. Despite winning the final round, Sapp finished 11-points behind Klienubing in the Touring Car Championship standings.
Nick Vitucci gets a lot of air in Las Vegas’ turn one chicane. The Acura Integra Type R driver entered the final three races of the season - Laguna Seca, Las Vegas and San Diego. At Las Vegas he qualified towards the back of the grid and a crash on lap-16 left him well down the finishing order.
Steve Pfeffer was the teammate of 2000 World Challenge GT Champion Jeff McMillin. Previously they raced together on the Franz Blam Racing team in the Motorola Cup series. Driving a BMW 328is in the Touring division Pfeffer had several good runs during the 2000 season. With six top-tens during the year he, finished eighth in the overall standings and fourth in the rookie battle.
The RealTime fleet of Acuras line up for practice at Las Vegas. At this event, the team drivers included Pierre Kleinubing, Hugh Plumb, Kevin Schrantz, Carlos Steyer and Fred Meyer. Kleinubing would take the World Challenge Touring Championship (with three wins, two seconds, two thirds, five poles and eight top-five finishes) and the RealTime team was awarded 'Crew of the Year'.
The Las Vegas World Challenge Touring Car podium. Hugh Plumb in the center is celebrating his second win of the season. To Plumb’s left is runner-up Neil Sapp. Third place finisher Alfred duPont rounds out the podium.

11Hugh PlumbAcura Type R28-
27Alfred DupontBMW 328is28-
34Neal SappBMW 328ci28-
46Pierre KleinubingAcura Type R28-
58Don SalamaBMW 328is28-
63Will TurnerBMW 328is28-
79Steve PfefferBMW 328is28-
85Kevin SchrantzAcura Type R28-
919Ken DobsonPontiac Sunfire28-
1031Paul AldermanBMW 328is28-
1114Mark ReedAcura Type R28-
1210Shauna MarinusBMW 328ci28-
1316Walter Markes JrBMW 328is28-
1421Fred PignataroBMW 328is28-
1522Carlos SteyerAcura Type R28-
1629Manny MatzBMW 328is27-
1723John BisignanoToyota Celica27-
1826Leo CapaldiMercury Cougar27-
1932Daniel GeigerHonda Prelude27-
2015Steve LisaMazda 62627-
2137Peter AckroydBMW 328is27-
2224Grant LockwoodHonda Prelude27-
2327Kurt BuchwaldToyota Celica27-
2430Fred MeyerAcura Type R27-
2535Dan WallBMW 328is27-
2617Drew HagestadVW Jetta26Mechanical
2713David RosenblumMazda 62626Mechanical
2836Peter MillerHonda Civic26-
292Mike FitzgeraldBMW 328ci20Oiler Cooler
3012Justin MarksBMW 328is20Crash
3120Davy JonesBMW 328ci16Engine
3233Nick VitucciAcura Type R16Crash
3334Albert MirkoFord Contour13Over Heating
3411Taz HarveyAcura Type R11Engine
3525Mike BuzzettiOldsmobile Achieva7Mechanical
3618Jeff LittleBMW 328is0Crash
DSQ28Peter BovenbergHonda Civic27-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.