The World Challenge series was divided into two separate classes – World Challenge GT and World Challenge Touring. The series featured production based cars modified for racing. The races for both classes were 50-minutes in length.

In 2000 World Challenge series organisers decided to make a number of changes to the series in an effort to attract car enthusiasts and to copy the success of European Touring Car series:

  • Aligning with trends in the automotive aftermarket competitors were allowed to use larger wheels and tires (up to 18-inches in GT and up to 17-inches in Touring), spec rear wings and more aerodynamic bodywork.

  • Also introduced for 2000 was standing starts.

    The series also boasted larger purses and a great television package as the result of sponsorship from Speedvision. All these factors attracted bigger fields - at some events as many as 80-cars were entered for the two classes.

    Round eight of the World Challenge series was held at the Laguna Seca road course. The eleven-turn 2.238-mile road course is located in Monterey, California. There were forty-three GT class cars entered.

  • Mike Fitzgerald won the GT race at Laguna Seca by 4.204-seconds - a comfortable margin by World Challenge standards. Fitzgerald, who started from the pole, was passed at the start by Michael Galati who used the all-wheel-drive advantage of his Audi S4 but by the third turn Fitzgerald was back in front. Fitzgerald became the ninth driver in World Challenge history to win three-straight races.
    Terry Borcheller, who qualified third in the AASCO Saleen SR, made a poor start and fell back to seventh. By lap-9 of 26 Borcheller was up to second which is where he would finish. The 1998 series champion felt fortunate to earn the runner-up spot after the ignition box came loose and moved around on the car’s floor. He also set the fastest race lap - 1:36.058.
    Bill Cooper started the season with a win but since then he could usually be found at either end of the results sheet. At Laguna Seca he qualified the Pirate Racing Chevrolet Corvette C5 seventh. The car developed an engine miss on about lap-5 – although he could not catch Fitzgerald or Bocheller he was able to finish third.
    Legendary sports car champion Derek Bell qualified his Champion Audi S4 Competition in sixth place. Bell maintained this position to the checkered flag. This was not his best result of the 2000 season – he finished fifth at Sears Point.
    Canadian racing veteran Frank Allers entered the 2000 World Challenge series with an impressive racing resume. He had won multiple Canadian championships – the Honda Challenge Series and the Western GM Championship for Camaros and Firebirds. Allers also raced in the Formula Atlantic series from 1987 to 1998. At Laguna Seca he started fourth and was fifth at the finish.
    It was not a good race for Peter Cunningham and his BMW M3. Cunningham held many World Challenge records – most career wins and top-3, top-5 and top-10 finishes. Earlier in the season, he won at Le Circuit Ste. Croix but at Laguna Seca he was the first to retire. Contact in corner- two damaged the radiator.
    At Laguna Seca Jeff McMillin driving the JJ’s Snacks BMW M3 continued to demonstrate his ability to consistency finish in the top-ten. At round eight McMillin qualified eighth and finished ninth. He entered Laguna with the championship lead and when title contender Bobby Archer finished twelfth the point’s gap increased.
    Rookie Justin Jackson was having a spectacular season. He had a podium finish – third – at the Texas Motor Speedway event and fourths at Lowes Motor Speedway and Road Atlanta. He qualified his Porsche 993 RSR twelveth at Laguna Seca and scored another fourth place finish. This result moved him into fourth in points and he remained at the top of the Rookie standings.
    G.J. Mennen in the No. 04 Chevrolet Corvette passes Paul Brown in a Saleen SR at turn-two. Brown and Mennen qualified twenty-second and twenty-third, respectively. Mennen would go on to an eleventh place finish which earned him the Borla Performance award and Brown was classified twentieth.

    11Mike FitzgeraldPorsche 911 GT3 Cup26-
    23Terry BorchellerSaleen Mustang SR26-
    37Bill CooperChevrolet Corvette C526-
    412Justin JacksonPorsche 911 RSR26-
    54Frank AllersChevrolet Corvette C526-
    66Derek BellAudi S426-
    79Reese CoxChevrolet Corvette C526-
    816Eric CurrenChevrolet Corvette C526-
    98Jeff McMillinBMW M326-
    1017Jimmy AdamsDodge Viper GTS26-
    1123Terry LackeyChevrolet Corvette C526-
    1218Bobby ArcherDodge Viper GTS26-
    1311John HeinricyChevrolet Corvette C526-
    142Michael GalatiAudi S426-
    1519Bob MillerPorsche 911 GT3 Cup26-
    1620Phil McClureChevrolet Corvette C526-
    1731Dan KellermeyerChevrolet Corvette C526-
    1827Bob TaylorChevrolet Corvette C526-
    1936Walter SwickBMW M326-
    2022Paul BrownSaleen Mustang SR26-
    2145Ryan NegriPorsche 911 Super Cup25-
    2229Rick KnoopChevrolet Corvette C525-
    2325Joe VardeDodge Viper GTS25-
    2426Nigel BurnsBMW M325-
    2532RaelPorsche 911 GT3 Cup25-
    2639Mark DixonPontiac Firebird25-
    2735Tom EdwardsDodge Viper GTS25-
    2833Steve CarvajalSaleen Mustang25-
    2938Derek ClarkPorsche 911 Super Cup24-
    3034Don IstookAudi S424-
    3141Rudy CourtadoPorsche 911 Super Cup24-
    3240Carol HollfelderFerrari F355 Challenge22-
    3328Robert RodriguezChevrolet Corvette C419Mechanical
    3437Dick GreiserBMW M319Accident
    3513Scotty B. WhiteChevrolet Corvette C512Mechanical
    3610Scott BovePorsche 911 GT3 Cup12-
    3724James SofronasBMW M311Mechanical
    3830Thomas Safar IISaleen Mustang SR8Mechanical
    3914Ross ThompsonChevrolet Corvette C46Mechanical
    4042Daniel EastmanPorsche 911 RSR6Mechanical
    4121Mark AndersonPorsche 9283Mechanical
    4215Mark WolocatiukChevrolet Corvette1Accident
    435Peter CunninghamBMW M30Damage

    Copyright Notice:
    All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

    © Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

    Return to home page.