The 2000 US F2000 National Championship, sanctioned by the United States Auto Club and the Sports Car Club of America – Pro Racing, is an open-wheel series for Formula 2000 race cars. The presenting sponsor is Speedvision. The series also receives generous support from the Ford Motor Company, Yokohama Tires, Sunoco Racing Fuels and Racing Electronics.

The championship consists of thirteen races and is contested on road courses and ovals. The season begins in March on the oval at Phoenix International Raceway. Next on the calendar is a road course double-header in Canada at Mosport International Raceway. Then the series travels to Indianapolis Raceway Park for another oval event. Rounds five and six are conducted on Road America. It is back to Canada to visit the temporary circuit at Trois-Rivieres at the end of July, followed a week later for a second visit to Mosport International Raceway. Watkins Glen International hosts race nine and ten. The penultimate round sees teams return to Indianapolis Raceway Park, with the final weekend of competition taking place at Road Atlanta.

The cars competing in the series are single-seat, rear-engine, open-wheel vehicles constructed with a tube frame chassis. Manufacturers producing series chassis include Carbir, Mygale, Tatuus, Vector and the most common choice, Van Diemen. These 1,190-lbs formula cars are powered by a 2.0-liter Ford NEA engine fitted with a single Weber DGV carburetor. At 6,200-rpm, the motors produce approximately 150-horsepower. The suspensions are independent – both front and rear. Shock absorbers and sway bars are adjustable. The cars compete on a spec tire from Yokohama and use a spec fuel provided by Sunoco.

Drivers compete in one of two classes:

  • F2A – This category is for newer cars. Competitors score points on the road courses and ovals to secure the National Championship. There is also the Road to Indy Oval Crown for the driver who performs the best in the oval events.
  • ACC – The American Continental Championship is for cars built from 1990 to 1999. Drivers in this division score points on the road courses. This class was introduced to provide an economical means for drivers and teams to enter the series.

Titles are also on the line for Chassis Manufacturers, Engine Builders and Prep Shops.

In early August, the 2000 US F2000 National Championship made their second visit to Mosport International Raceway as part of the American Le Mans Series weekend. Unlike the double-header in May, drivers would be competing in a single twenty-lap contest around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round eight for the 2000 US F2000 National Championship at Mosport International Raceway. Leading a field of twenty-five entrants into Mosport’s corner one is the pole-sitter, Ian Lacy, in the No. 6 sponsored Van Diemen. Chasing Lacy is the No. 96 Key Motorsports Van Diemen of the second-fastest qualifier, Marc-Antoine Camirand and the third-place starter, James Hanson.
Ian Lacy would score his first US F2000 National Championship win in round eight at Mosport International Raceway. Lacy qualified on the pole driving the No. 6 Van Diemen prepared by Richard Morgan Racing. In the race, he held off challenges from Marc-Antoine Camirand and James Hanson to score the victory. The result moved Lacy to within six points of the Camirand, second in the title chase.
The driver of the No. 21 Caper Motorsports Van Diemen, James Hanson, had his best result of the year, a third-place, in round three at Mosport International Raceway. In the series second visit to Mosport, Hanson qualified third fastest. On lap-4, Hanson passed Marc-Antoine Camirand for second place. He turned the fastest race lap in an effort to catch the leader, Ian Lacy but came up short by a margin of 0.464-seconds.
The points leader, Aaron Justus, was fifth fastest in the qualifying session at Mosport International Raceway. At the start of the contest, the No. 32 Forsythe Indeck Racing Van Diemen driver lost a position. Justus battled back and on the second last lap, he passed Marc-Antoine Camirand for third place in corner eight. Justus held on to the spot and earned his sixth podium finish of the season.
Four podium finishes with three of them being victories contributed to Marc-Antione Camirand’s second place in the championship standings. Camirand put the No. 96 Key Motorsports Van Diemen on the outside of the front row for the twenty-lap race at Mosport International Raceway. During the contest, he could not hold off challenges from James Hanson and the points leader, Aaron Justus and finished fourth.
In round three at Mosport International Raceway, series rookie, Peter Walsh, won his first US F2000 National Championship event. Since then, Walsh’s successes have been ‘few and far between.’ After his victory, Walsh’s best result was a third-place at Trois-Rivieres. During the qualifying season for round eight, he recorded the thirteenth fastest. Walsh was never a factor in the race and retired on lap-11.

11F2AIan Diemen20-
23F2AJames HansonDuPont/Van Diemen20-
35F2AAaron JustusForsythe/Indeck/Torco/Van Diemen20-
42F2AMarc-Antoine CamirandKey Motorsport/Van Diemen20-
510ACCAndy LallyTBA/Van Diemen20-
66ACCTom DyerCycleShack/BelHelmets/Paladin/Carbir20-
77F2AJeff Diemen20-
811F2APiero RodarteTelMex/Sico/Yumuri/Elf/Van Diemen20-
920F2AJames EatonPrimus Racing/Van Diemen20-
1015F2AAndrew DavisTechnical Sales Associates/Van Diemen20-
1116F2ATommy Diemen20-
1218F2AArnold BrinkmannH2OLA/Fruit/Van Diemen20-
1317F2ADaniel MunizTexacoHavlineRcg/FujiFillm/Van Diemen20-
1414ACCMartin GuimontOrion Packing/Van Diemen20-
1522ACCGeorges ForgeoisCafe Noir/Jules/Van Diemen20-
1619ACCGreg SchingsValvoline/Valco/SR Racing/Van Diemen20-
1721ACCAdam SodanoF1 Boston/Outsource/EpicTech/Van Diemen20-
1823ACCBrett HarrisonSeattle Auto Sport/Van Diemen20-
198F2AJ.W. UrlinOTM Motorsports/Van Diemen20-
2025F2AJoe TesoneContinental Motorsport Service/Van Diemen19-
2112F2AArie Luyendyk JrLuyendyk Racing/Van Diemen18Mechanical
224F2AMemo Rojas JrTelMex/Van Diemen15Off Course
2313F2APeter WalshKey Motorsport/Van Diemen11Off Course
2424ACCNick FanelliFanelli Motorsports/Van Diemen6Wheel
259F2ABilly AsaroForsythe/InDeck Racing/Van Diemen2Contact
2626F2AHarold PrimatPrimland Resort/Van Diemen0Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.