2000 marked the third season that the Canadian Formula Ford Championship was sponsored by the Ford Motor Company. Running as a support race for high profile events such as the Canadian Grand Prix and the Toronto Indy contributed to healthy grids and close racing.

The 2000 season opened on the May long weekend at Mosport International Raceway. This event was followed by the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve and another popular venue on the calendar, the Molson Indy Toronto. Rounds four and five were the series only doubleheader weekend. Competitors would race on Saturday and Sunday at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The next two events took place at Mosport, with races being conducted on Augustís the first and last weekend. The championship concluded in early September at Autodrome St-Eustache.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada Ė the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs., with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec fuel from Sunoco (Ultra 94) and a spec tire (Hankook Z2000).

The sixth race of the 2000 Canadian Formula Ford Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway during the American Le Mans Series weekend. Drivers would race around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course for sixteen-laps.

The start of round six for the 2000 Canadian Formula Ford Championship at Mosport International Raceway. The front of the grid looks identical to the opening lap four-months earlier during race one. Leading the field into the first corner is the pole-sitter, Jonathan Macri in the AERO II. Hot on his heels is the No. 7 Vector MG-93 of the second-fastest qualifier, Jean-Sebastien Bedard and Matt White in the No. 4 Van Diemen.
Jean-Sebastien Bedard was having an Ďup and down year.í Until this weekend, the high was a second-place at the Toronto Indy and the lows included three retirements. As he had done earlier in the season, Bedard qualified second-fastest driving the No. 7 Vector MG-93. In the race, he battled with Jonathan Macri and Matt White. A caution late in the contest gave Bedard the advantage and victory.
Frederick Martel started his 2000 campaign driving a Team Scalzo prepared Van Diemen. Prior to round three, he joined Scuderia LM to drive the No. 33 Vector MG-93. There was an immediate improvement in Martelís results. He finished fourth in Toronto and collected a pair of runner-up finishes at Trois-Rivieres. Martelís podium streaked continued at Mosport with another second-place and a shot at the title.
The driver of the Britain West prepared Van Diemen RF00, Matt White, was one of the quickest drivers in the series, but he was having a problem finishing on the podium until rounds four and five. At the Trois-Rivieres double-header weekend, White showcased his talent with a pair of victories. A week later, at Mosport International Raceway, he qualified third and finished behind the Scuderia LM Vectors.
The points leader, Jonathan Macri, had a miserable outing at Trois-Rivieres; he failed to finish both rounds. Back at Mosport International Raceway, Macri was back on form and put the No. 31 Mopal Construction AERO II on the pole. The race started as a repeat of the May event, but in addition to Jean-Sebastien Bedard and Matt White, the battle included Frederick Martel. This was not his weekend and he finished fourth.
The reigning Canadian Formula Ford Champion, Didier Schraenen, also had a difficult weekend at Trois-Rivieres and failed to finish both races. To date, the highlight of his season was a pair of runner-up results in the first two rounds Ė Mosport and Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. At the American Le Mans event, Schraenen qualified sixth fastest in the No. 1 Radio Energie sponsored CMV and finished in the fifth position.
In round six at Mosport International Raceway, the highest finishing rookie was the series points leaderís brother, Francis Macri. Macri also drove an AERO II prepared by AIM Motorsports with backing from Mopal Construction. He finished a season-high second place in race two at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Macri was seventh fastest in the qualifying session and was in seventh place at the checkered flag.
The round six podium for the 2000 Canadian Formula Ford Championship at Mosport. In the center is the winner, Jean-Sebastien Bedard. This was Bedardís first victory of the season after coming close on a couple of occasions. Capturing the runner-up position for the third consecutive time is Frederick Martel standing on the right side of the rostrum. The final position is occupied by the third-place finisher Matt White.

12Jean-Sebastien BedardVector MG-93Scuderia LM16-
24Frederick MartelVector MG-93Scuderia LM16-
33Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF00Britain West16-
41Jonathan MacriAERO IIAIM Motorsports16-
56Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec16-
68Gerry KavanaughVan Diemen RF91EDJ Packaging16-
75Francis MacriAERO IIAIM Motorsports16-
810Louis-Philippe DumoulinVan Diemen RF90CHB Forest16-
97Ryan HorsesVan Diemen RF98Basi Autosport16-
1013Robert BoyerVan Diemen RF98Spasco16-
1112Brett OslerVan Diemen RF92SPOC Telecom16-
1211Jon AdamsVan Diemen RF98Adams Racing16-
1316Edouard AubeVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo16-
149Melanie PatersonVan Diemen RF97Sunoco/Pennzoil16-
1517Dan DenisonVan Diemen RF91Adams Racing16-
1618Eric SeguinardVan Diemen RF91Revi Motorsport16-
1715Michael GayowskiVan Diemen RF92Monarch Automotive15Accident
1814Tom ReinselVan Diemen RF97Broken Bones Racing14Accident
1919Alex MichieVan Diemen RF98Tooling & Equipment9Did Not Finish
2020Steve PickeringVan Diemen RF90Transmissions Unlimited5Did Not Finish
2121Eric ParadisVan Diemen RF97Amusement 2220Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.