The World Challenge series was divided into two separate classes – World Challenge GT and World Challenge Touring. The series featured production based cars modified for racing. The races for both classes were 50-minutes in length.

In 2000 World Challenge series organisers decided to make a number of changes to the series in an effort to attract car enthusiasts and to copy the success of European Touring Car series:

  • Aligning with trends in the automotive aftermarket competitors were allowed to use larger wheels and tires (up to 18-inches in GT and up to 17-inches in Touring), spec rear wings and more aerodynamic bodywork.

  • Also introduced for 2000 was standing starts.

    The series also boasted larger purses and a great television package as the result of sponsorship from Speedvision. All these factors attracted bigger fields - at some events as many as 80-cars were entered for the two classes.

    The Touring Car Championship was dubbed 'The Official Racing Series of the Sports Compact Revolution.' It featured the Acura Integra Type R, Audi A4, BMW 328, Ford Focus and Contour, Honda Accord, Civic Si and Prelude Si, Mazda Protege and 626, Mercury Cougar, Mercedes-Benz 230, Nissan 240 SX, Pontiac Sunfire, Saturn SC, Toyota Celica GT and Volkswagen GTI and Jetta.

  • Pre-season favorites were the formidable RealTime Racing team and drivers Pierre Kleinubing, Hugh Plumb and Kevin Schrantz—all in Acura Integra Type Rs. The RealTime team lived up to their reputation – qualifying first and second. Leading the field into turn-one are Kleinubing and Plumb.
    Charlotte was the debut of the series newly introduced standing starts. Pierre Kleinubing had performed standing starts in his native Brazil. He used this experience to jump out front and led flag-to-flag. After 26-laps Kleinubing in his, Acura Integra Type R won by 0.481-seconds.
    RealTime boss Peter Cunningham was entered in the Touring class by the Prototype Technology Group. The plan was to convert the No. 41 BMW 328is to World Challenge GT trim for the remainder of the season. Cunningham started last in Touring race but was eighteenth by the end of lap-1. Despite struggling with a leaking tire late in the race, he finished third. During his charge to the front, he recorded the fastest race lap.
    The Hikari Racing Toyota Celicas. The No. 99 was driven by Kurt Buchwald who qualified a respectable fifteenth but retired with mechanical problems. Kim Wolfkill in No. 98 completed only 5-laps after starting thirty-fourth. Unfortunately, the team had very little success and the cars vanished after the 2000 season.
    TC Kline entered three BMW 328cis in the Touring division for drivers Mike Fitzgerald, Neal Sapp and Shauna Marinus. Unfortunately, the cars were not ready for the opening round at Charlotte. Wanting to score points arrangements were made for Mike Fitzgerald to drive Peter Schwartzott’s Acura Integra Type R. He started eighteenth but an accident led to his retirement on lap-13.
    Number 17 Grant Lockwood in a Honda Prelude takes evasive action as Kevin Schrantz in the No. 44 RealTime Type R and Alfred DuPont in the BMW 328is make contact. Schrantz’s teammate Hugh Plumb in No. 43 went on to finish second.
    Hugh Plumb drove the No. 43 RealTime Race Acura Integra Type R. He qualified behind the pole winner and teammate Pierre Kleinubing. Plumb fell to third at the start and eventually fourth behind Will Turner and Peter Cunningham as he struggled with a car that was down on power. In the second half of the race, the problem corrected itself, and he was able to improve his position - finishing second.
    Will Turner drove the No. 92 Turner Motorsport BMW 328is. His team included drivers – Don Salama, Brian Wade and Jeff Tarr. Turner and rookie Salama started third and fourth, respectively. At one point during the race, Turner was running second but eventually he was passed by Plumb and Cunningham and finished fourth.
    Despite the fact that third place finisher Peter Cunningham was entered in a BMW 328is by the Prototype Technology Group this was primarily a RealTime Racing podium. In the center is the winner, Pierre Kleinubing and to his left is his teammate Hugh Plumb.

    11Pierre KleinubingAcura Type R26-
    22Hugh PlumbAcura Type R26-
    333Peter CunninghamBMW 328is26-
    43Will TurnerBMW 328is26-
    54Don SalamaBMW 328is26-
    631Paul BooherMazda 62626-
    76Paul AldermanBMW 328is26-
    811Jason PotterHonda Accord26-
    935Charlie DownesBMW 328is26-
    1010Grant LockwoodHonda Prelude26-
    1119Walter Markes JrBMW 328is26-
    1232Bob NagelAcura Type R26-
    138Neal SappHonda Prelude26-
    1412Mark ReedAcura Type R26-
    1523Ed SchairbaumNissan 240SX26-
    1620Brian WadeBMW 328is26-
    1717Ed MagnerOldsmobile Achieva26-
    1825Rick EllingerMercedes-Benz C26-
    1926Fred MeyerAcura Type R26-
    2029Dave RodziewiczBMW 328is26-
    217Kevin SchrantzAcura Type R25-
    229Alfred DupontBMW 328is25-
    2327Tom BakerBMW 328is24Accident
    2416Jeff TarrBMW 328is24Accident
    2514Hugh StewartVW Jetta GLX24Accident
    2628Clay CarterBMW 328is24-
    2724Leo CapaldiMercury Cougar23-
    2830Mark CrellinNissan 200SR23-
    2921Drew HagestadVW Jetta19Mechanical
    3018Mike FitzgeraldAcura Type R13Accident
    3115Kurt BuchwaldToyota Celica10Mechanical
    3222Manny MatzBMW 328is8Overheating
    3334Kim WolfkillToyota Celica5Mechanical
    3413Steve LisaMazda 6263Mechanical
    355Taz HarveyAcura Type R22Mechanical

    Copyright Notice:
    All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

    © Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

    Return to home page.