In 1985 the Canadian Race Drivers Association and the Western New York Region of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) co-sanctioned a race weekend at Mosport International Raceway called the SCCA/CRDA Labour Day Nationals. This event allowed Canadian competitors to score points in the Canadian Automobile Sport Clubs – Ontario Region classes and their American counterparts to collect points towards the New York State Road Racing Championship.

By 1999, the SCCA/CRDA Labour Day Nationals was recognized as a Sports Car Club of America National event. This allowed SCCA members to score points needed to compete in the National Championship Runoffs at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

There are National Championships for twenty-four different classes. These race groups fall into one of seven different categories:

  • Production Category – There are four classes in the production category – E Production (EP), F Production (FP), G Production (GP) and H Production (HP). These production-based vehicles are grouped according to their performance potential. Sports cars such as the MGB, Porsche 914, Alfa Romeo Spider, MG Midget, etc., are most often associated with this category.
  • Grand Touring Category – Five classes, are identified as Grand Touring – they include Grand Touring 1 (GT1), Grand Touring 2 (GT2), Grand Touring 3 (GT3), Grand Touring 4 (GT4) and Grand Touring 5 (GT5). These vehicles are also grouped according to their performance potential. The quickest class, GT1, features cars such as the Ford Mustang and Chevrolet Corvette, while at the other end of the spectrum, GT5 includes the Mini Cooper and Honda Civic. These vehicles are allowed a larger number of modifications than the production category.
  • Showroom Stock – Two Showroom Stock categories, Showroom Stock B (SSB) and Showroom Stock C (SSC) was created by the SCCA to accommodate performance street cars with a minimum amount of modifications required to race. Changes to these vehicles are for safety purposes.
  • Sports Racers – These are purpose-built closed-wheel race cars. There are four classes within this group – C Sports Racer (CSR), D Sports Racer (DSR), Sports 2000 (S2) and Spec Racer Ford (SRF). Sports Racers include a variety of chassis’ which may be constructed by the competitor or a race car manufacturer. Several chassis are available to Sports 2000 teams; however, they must use a 2.0-liter Ford engine. Spec Racer Ford is tightly controlled, with all drivers competing with the same chassis/engine combination.
  • Formula Category – These are also purpose-built race cars. This category includes five classes – Formula Atlantic (FA), Formula Continental (FC), Formula Ford (FF), Formula Mazda (FM), Formula (F500) and Formula Vee (FV). There are a variety of rules that govern these open-wheel cars.
  • Touring – The Touring class was created to accommodate the new high-performance cars produced by the automakers. Touring 1 (T1) features vehicles such as Dodge Viper, Ford Mustang Cobra R, Chevrolet Corvette, Acura NSX and Ferrari F355. Touring 2 (T2) is the home to the Chevrolet Camaro, Pontiac Firebird, Ford Mustang and BMW M3.
  • American Sedan - This division is comprised of Chevrolet Camaros, Pontiac Firebirds and Ford Mustangs. They use the production-based chassis with modifications to the suspension and brakes.

Below are images from the event at Mosport International Raceway.

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.