Canada’s premier stock car series in 1999 continued to be the Canadian Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (CASCAR). The success of the East series and the National Super Series in 1999 continued - but there was a concern for the low car counts in the West. The Western Division had nine-race weekends and the Eastern series eleven-events. The National Super Series consisted of four events two selected from the Eastern and Western schedule.

The two big stories for 1999 were the sale of CASCAR and CASCAR at the Toronto Indy. Just prior to the 1999 season was the sale of CASCAR to Windsor businessmen - Bill and Alan Darmon. The Darmon's did not make any big changes in their first year of ownership. They retained previous owner, Tony Novotny, to act as Director of Operations. The highlight of the 1999 season was the Miller Lite 100 as part of the Toronto Indy. It allowed the series to increase their exposure by competing at one of Canada's major race weekends.

The 1999 Canadian Auction Group 250 KM (64-laps) at the Mosport road course was one of the National Super Series events and also counted towards the Eastern Series championship. Due to its status, it attracted a number of western Canadian competitors. In 1999, there were a number of road course events – as mentioned Mosport, Toronto Indy and the Edmonton City Centre Airport. This was the series second visit to Mosport in several years. The event proved popular and continued to become an annual stop on the series schedule.

Round nine of the Eastern series and the field streams into turn one led by Peter Gibbons in the No. 1 Monte Carlo. In close pursuit was Pontiac Grand Prix of Robin Buck and Don Thomson in a Monte Carlo. The race had twenty-eight starters with eleven cars finishing on the lead lap.
A late race full course yellow allowed Peter Gibbons to close the gap between himself and race leader D.J. Kennington. It became apparent that Gibbons' mid-race pit-stop to replace 4-tires gave him an advantage. On the restart, it did not take long for Gibbons to pass Kennington. Gibbons held on to win the race by a 2-second margin. This was quite a contrast to 1998 when Gibbons encountered problems and finished twenty-eighth. He also won the 1999 Super Series National Championship.
Don Thomson in the No. 4 Chevrolet Monte Carlo leads a group of cars through Moss corner. Thomson completed the first lap in second place after Robin Buck slid off the course and on the third lap took the lead from Gibbons. He and Gibbons had a tremendous battle but in the end, he finished tenth. Despite this poor finish, Thomson was able to win the 1999 Eastern title.
For the second year in a row, Robin Buck finished second. As he was the most experienced CASCAR driver on the Mosport road course, he was the favourite for the win. A caution near the end of the race allowed him to close the gap on D.J. Kennington and Gibbons. He was able to pass Kennington for a second place finished but did not have the speed to catch Gibbons.
D.J. Kennington and his Dodge Avenger dominated the middle portion of the race. This could be attributed to a pit strategy that included only gas while many of the other contenders also changed four tires as well. But this proved to be his undoing as Gibbons and Buck were on newer tires. This allowed them to pass Kennington and resulted in his third place finish.
Peter Vanderwyst in Chevrolet Monte Carlo qualified ninth and finished eighth. Vanderwyst completed in a number of Canada GT Challenge Cup races. This allowed him to gain valuable road course experience at Mosport and the series also had a healthy purse. In 1999, he finished second in the Eastern point standings and fourth in National Super series - earning a win at Calgary.
Best of the Ford drivers was Kerry Micks in a Taurus. He finished fourth after standing fifth. In 1999 the Chevrolet marque was dominating the series and at Mosport two Ford competitors and one Pontiac driver protested the engines of Peter Gibbons, Don Thomson and John Fitzpatrick. Three days after the event the three engines were deemed legal.
The opening round of the 1999 Eastern Super Series took place at Delaware Speedway Park and was won by Neil Fair racing a Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Fair's season was also highlighted by a second in the heat race at Edmonton road course and finishing fifth in the final. At Mosport, he started twelfth and finished eleventh.
Western competitor Kevin Dowler driving a Ford Taurus started Mosport at the rear of the field in twenty-sixth and finished a very credible sixth. Dowler's season was a mixed bag - he broke his shoulder blade during qualifying at Prince George but had wins at Saskatoon and Regina.
Series veteran Al Turner started last in the field but made steady progress during the race. After a series of pit-stops, the Dodge Avenger driver found himself in the lead. But this only lasted until lap-48 when D.J. Kennington took the lead. Before the checkered flag fell Turner was passed by Gibbons, Buck and Kerry Micks - he finished fifth.
1998 National Super Series champion Dave Whitlock had a tough season. At the Mosport road course, he finished seventh after starting eighth. Whitlock placed seventh in the final Eastern and National standings.
Ron Beauchamp Jr. was the 1998 Eastern Series Champion but like Dave Whitlock could not repeat his success in 1999. A series of accidents and mechanical failures relegated him to an eighth in the final standings for the Eastern Series standings. At Mosport, he started seventh in his Dodge Avenger but finished twenty-first completing only 37-laps.

11Peter GibbonsChevrolet Monte Carlo64
22Robin BuckPontiac Grand Prix64
34D.J. KenningtonDodge Avenger64
45Kerry MicksFord Taurus64
530Al TurnerDodge Avenger64
626Kevin DowlerFord Taurus64
714Jim LapcevichFord Taurus64
89Peter VanderwystChevrolet Monte Carlo64
917John FletcherChevrolet Monte Carlo64
103Don Thomson Jr.Chevrolet Monte Carlo64
1112Neil FairChevrolet Monte Carlo64
1211Dave WhitlockFord Taurus63
1322Al LongChevrolet Monte Carlo60
1413Daryl HarrChevrolet Monte Carlo59
1520Derrick TiemersmaPontiac Grand Prix59
1615Kelly WilliamsFord Taurus58
178Wade LeeChevrolet Monte Carlo57
1828Joe GoncalvesChevrolet Monte Carlo54
1910Mark DilleyFord Taurus52
2023Howie Scannell Jr.Chevrolet Monte Carlo46
217Ron Beauchamp Jr.Dodge Avenger37
2216John FitzpatrickChevrolet Monte Carlo36
2318Nik LapcevichChevrolet Monte Carlo33
2421Brad JacquesChrysler28
256Carl HarrChevrolet Monte Carlo24
2627Andy FarrDodge Avenger13
2724Dave JacombsFord Taurus3
2819Ron VanEveryChevrolet Monte Carlo2

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.