1999 marked the second season that the Canadian Formula Ford Championship was sponsored by the Ford Motor Company. Running as a support race for high-profile events such as the Canadian Grand Prix and the Toronto Indy contributed to healthy grids and close racing.

The 1999 season opened on the Victoria Day long weekend with the first of three visits to Mosport International Raceway. This event was followed by the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Then the championship returned to Mosport as a support race for the American Le Mans Series. The second high-profile event on the calendar was conducted in Toronto at the Molson Indy. Round five was at the popular Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Teams made their final visit to Mosport during the last weekend of August. The championship concluded with the series only doubleheader weekend. Competitors would race on Saturday and Sunday at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs, with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec fuel from Sunoco (Ultra 94) and a spec tire (Hankook Z2000).

The penultimate race weekend of the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship was the series final stop at Mosport International Raceway. Competitors would race around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course for fifteen laps.

The start of round six for the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship at Mosport International Raceway. Leading a field of twenty-one entrants through corner one is the second-fastest qualifier, Sean Tenpow, in the No. 82 AIM Motorsports Aero II. Behind Tenpow is the pole-sitter, for the second time this season at Mosport, Bruno St. Jacques, in the No. 77 Usinage St-Jacques Van Diemen RF97.
Prior to round six at Mosport, Matt White was having a character-building season. He only had one finish in five starts, a ninth-place in race one at Mosport. However, his luck changed at the CASCAR weekend. White qualified tenth fastest in the No. 4 Van Diemen RF98. He moved to the front and inherited positions as the leaders crashed. In the last corner on the final lap White from third to first.
Finishing behind Matt White was Sean Tenpow, who scored a victory earlier in the season at Montreal. Tenpow put the No. 82 AIM Motorsports prepared Aero II second on the grid. He jumped into the lead in the first corner and led two circuits. Tenpow fell as low as fifth-place before inheriting the top spot on the last lap, but contact with Jean-Sebastien Bedard in corner ten resulted in a second-place finish.
One of the many beneficiaries of all the incidents during the race was rookie Kuno Wittmer. To date, the highlight of Wittmer’s season was a pair of twelfth place finishes in the No. 83 Basi Autosport Van Diemen RF97. During the qualifying session, he was ninth fastest. As the leaders crashed and broke, Wittmer moved up the race order. An accident in corner ten on the final lap earned him the final spot on the podium.
In round six at Mosport International Raceway, title contender Bruno St Jacques collected his fourth pole position of the 1999 season. St Jacques was fresh off his first victory of the year at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. He lost the lead of the race at the start, but he was in the top spot two circuits later. On lap six, St Jacques was challenged by Stephane Roy and lost control of the car. He was the race’s first retirement.
Billy Asaro could be included in the list of the series top competitors that had a weekend at Mosport that they would like to forget. Asaro had to be optimistic heading into round six as he had two victories at the track. He put the No. 22 Aero II eighth on the grid in qualifying. However, Asaro moved up the race order and was battling with Stephane Roy for the lead on the final lap when the two made contact.

110Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF98Young Driver of Canada15-
22Sean TempowAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
39Kuno WittmerVan Diemen RF97Basi Autosport15-
414Sylvain ChampouxCMVBiere HEK15-
512Louis-Philippe DumoulinVan Diemen RF90NORMA115-
66Jonathan MacriVan Diemen RF98Mopal Construction15-
713Jean-Philippe KhouryVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo15-
816Chris FowlerVan Diemen RF90-15-
917Robert BoyerVan Diemen RF87Desjardins Marine15-
1011Brian FogtVan Diemen RF97Firsthand15-
1118Joe LauniVan Diemen RF94ConLawn Construction15-
1219Isabelle RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
137Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec15-
143Frederick MartelVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo15-
1520Etienne BorgeatVan Diemen RF98Key Motorsport15-
168Billy AsaroAERO IIAIM Motorsports14Accident
175Stephane RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM14Accident
184Jean-Sebastien BedardVector MG-93Scuderia LM14Accident
1915Melanie PatersonVan Diemen RF97Sunoco13Accident
2021Kevin HooSwift DB-1Can-Jam Racing6Accident
211Bruno St-JacquesVan Diemen RF97Usinage St-Jacques5Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.