1999 marked the second season that the Canadian Formula Ford Championship was sponsored by the Ford Motor Company. Running as a support race for high-profile events such as the Canadian Grand Prix and the Toronto Indy contributed to healthy grids and close racing.

The 1999 season opened on the Victoria Day long weekend with the first of three visits to Mosport International Raceway. This event was followed by the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Then the championship returned to Mosport as a support race for the American Le Mans Series. The second high-profile event on the calendar was conducted in Toronto at the Molson Indy. Round five was at the popular Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Teams made their final visit to Mosport during the last weekend of August. The championship concluded with the series only doubleheader weekend. Competitors would race on Saturday and Sunday at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs, with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec fuel from Sunoco (Ultra 94) and a spec tire (Hankook Z2000).

At the end of June, the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship returned to Mosport International Raceway for the second of three events at the facility. Competitors would race around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course for fifteen laps.

Rookie Billy Asaro won the opening round of the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship at Mosport with very little pressure. After a dismal weekend in Montreal, he was looking to turn his fortunes around. Asaro started by qualifying on the pole in the No. 22 AIM Motorsports Aero II. Unlike last time, he traded the lead with his teammate, Sean Tenpow and Jean-Sebastien Bedard, before capturing the victory.
A botched start in round one forced Sean Tenpow to drive from thirteenth on the opening lap to a fourth-place finish. Tenpow fared much in Montreal as he inherited the victory when his teammate, Billy Asaro, encountered a mechanical issue. In his second visit to Mosport, he qualified better and hung onto Asaro. Tenpow led the final circuit, but Asaro passed him in corner eight, relegating him to a runner-up result.
A disagreement over performance led Jean-Sebastien Bedard to sever ties with Key Motorsports and join Revi Motorsports driving the No. 7 Digidyne Spector MG-93. Bedard addressed any issues surrounding his abilities by qualifying third fastest. During the race, he found himself in a three-way battle with AIM teammates Billy Asaro and Sean Tenpow. After having his turn out front, he finished third.
The defending series champion, Didier Schraenen, has yet to collect his first podium result of the 1999 season but is inching closer. Schraenen has two top-ten finishes but found himself much more competitive in round three at Mosport. He started in the sixth position and was able to run with the leaders, although not challenge for the top spot. The No. 1 RDS / CKMF CMV would cross the finish line in fourth place.
After failing to finish the first two races of the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship, Frederick Martel set himself a goal of seeing the checkered flag in round three at Mosport. The No. 13 Team Scalzo Van Diemen RF94 of Martel was gridded eighth for the start of the fifteen-lap event. Like Schraenen, he was able to maintain the pace of the leaders but could not challenge for the win and finished fifth.
After two disappointing outings, which included a suspension issue at Montreal, Brian Fogt appears to have turned his season around. During the qualifying session, Fogt recorded the ninth-fastest time in the No. 66 Firsthand Distributing Van Diemen RF97. He advanced one position on the opening lap and collected another spot when Stephane Roy had problems. A pass on Bruno St. Jacques earned him a sixth-place finish.

11Billy AsaroAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
23Sean TempowAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
32Jean-Sebastien BedardVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
46Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec15-
58Frederick MartelVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo15-
69Brian FogtVan Diemen RF97Firsthand15-
77Bruno St-JacquesVan Diemen RF97Usinage St-Jacques15-
812Walter KollerVan Diemen RF98Atoma15-
914Jonathan MacriVan Diemen RF98Mopal Construction15-
1010Jean-Philippe KhouryVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo15-
1118Brendan KerinVan Diemen RF98Grafton Vitility15-
1215Kuno WittmerVan Diemen RF97Basi Autosport15-
135Stephane RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
1420Etienne BorgeatVan Diemen RF98Key Motorsport15-
1519James YottVan Diemen RF99Groupe DKY Advertising15-
1622Melanie PatersonVan Diemen RF97Sunoco15-
1724Noel RabeyVan Diemen RF90Sunoco15-
1823Isabelle RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
1913Robert BoyerVan Diemen RF87Desjardins Marine15-
2021Joe LauniVan Diemen RF94ConLawn Construction14-
214Dominic JutrasVan Diemen RF94Megatec14-
2217Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF98Young Driver of Canada13Did Not Finish
2311Sylvain ChampouxCMVBiere HEK9Did Not Finish
2416Louis-Philippe DumoulinVan Diemen RF90NORMA4Did Not Finish
2525Kerry CorneliusVan Diemen RF98Cornelius Pools0Did Not Finish
-26Don VallanceSwift DB-1C.P. Tool & Die-Did Not Start
-27Simon KirbyVan Diemen RF91KCB-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.