1999 marked the second season that the Canadian Formula Ford Championship was sponsored by the Ford Motor Company. Running as a support race for high-profile events such as the Canadian Grand Prix and the Toronto Indy contributed to healthy grids and close racing.

The 1999 season opened on the Victoria Day long weekend with the first of three visits to Mosport International Raceway. This event was followed by the Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Then the championship returned to Mosport as a support race for the American Le Mans Series. The second high-profile event on the calendar was conducted in Toronto at the Molson Indy. Round five was at the popular Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. Teams made their final visit to Mosport during the last weekend of August. The championship concluded with the series only doubleheader weekend. Competitors would race on Saturday and Sunday at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine, which produces120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Two of the most successful cars are constructed in Canada – the Aero and CMV. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs, with the driver. Teams are required to use a spec fuel from Sunoco (Ultra 94) and a spec tire (Hankook Z2000).

The opening round of the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship was held at Mosport International Raceway. Competitors would race around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course in a fifteen lap contest.

Rookie Billy Asaro won the opening round of the 1999 Canadian Formula Ford Championship. Asaro qualified second-fastest in the No. 22 AIM Motorsports prepared Aero II. He passed the Van Diemen of the pole-sitter, Bruno St. Jacques, at the start of the race. During the contest, Asaro teamed up with Stephane Roy and the pair were able to separate themselves from the rest of the pack.
In 1999 Stephane Roy and his sister, Isabelle, replaced their EuroSwift SC92s with a Vector MG-93 model prepared Scuderia LM. Stephane qualified third fastest in the No. 16 Stereo Plus sponsored Vector. Like the second-place starter, Billy Asaro, he passed the pole-sitter, Bruno St. Jacques, on the opening lap. Stephane and Asaro worked together and pulled away from the field. He finished second by a margin of 1.251-seconds.
As a rookie last season, Bruno St. Jacques finished eleventh in the championship standings. In an attempt to improve on this result, he entered the first two regional races at Mosport for additional track time. It appeared to work as St. Jacques put the No. 77 Usinage St-Jacques Van Diemen RF97 on the pole. Unfortunately, he made a poor start and had to battle with Jonathan Macri and Dominic Jutras before finishing third.
The second driver on the formidable AIM Motorsports team was another rookie, Sean Tenpow. Tenpow piloted the No. 82 Aero II with backing from Aurora Network Technologies. He was gridded fifth for the start of the fifteen-lap contest. However, he stalled the car at the start and dropped to thirteenth on the opening lap. Tenpow spent the remainder of the contest battling his way to the front and finished fourth.
1999 was Dominic Jutras’ second season in the Canadian Formula Ford Championship. His highlight last year was a fourth-place at Trois-Rivieres. Jutras, driving the No. 54 Usine Rotec/Megatec sponsored Van Diemen RF94, was sixth fastest in the qualifying session. During the race, he found himself fighting with several competitors. Aided by the retirement of Jonathan Macri, Jutras finished in the fifth position.
The defending Canadian Formula Ford champion was veteran Didier Schraenen. Schraenen returned in the familiar No. 1 RDS / CKMF CMV for another season. Before he could get up to speed during the qualifying session, Schraenen crashed in corner eight. At this point, he was only twelfth fastest. He wasted little time advancing in the race and at the checkered flag; Schraenen was in the sixth spot.

12Billy AsaroAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
23Stephane RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
31Bruno St-JacquesVan Diemen RF97Usinage St-Jacques15-
45Sean TempowAERO IIAIM Motorsports15-
56Dominic JutrasVan Diemen RF94Megatec15-
612Didier SchraenenCMVDynatec15-
74Jonathan MacriVan Diemen RF98Mopal Construction15-
87Jean-Sebastien BedardVan Diemen RF98Key Motorsports15-
910Matt WhiteVan Diemen RF98Young Driver of Canada15-
109Jean-Philippe KhouryVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo15-
1116Brian FogtVan Diemen RF97Firsthand15-
1217Louis-Philippe DumoulinVan Diemen RF90NORMA15-
1314Robert BoyerVan Diemen RF87Desjardins Marine15-
1413Kuno WittmerVan Diemen RF97Basi Autosport15-
1523Melanie PatersonVan Diemen RF97Sunoco15-
1624Joe LauniVan Diemen RF94ConLawn Construction15-
1721Isabelle RoyVector MG-93Scuderia LM15-
1811Tom ReinselSwift DB-1Broken Bones Racing13Accident
1915Sylvain ChampouxCMVBiere HEK11Accident
2020James YottVan Diemen RF99Groupe DKY Advertising10-
2119Jean-Sebastien SauriolVan Diemen RF95Farinex9Accident
2218Simon KirbyVan Diemen RF91KCB6Engine
2322Etienne BorgeatVan Diemen RF98Key Motorsport3Accident
2425Don VallanceSwift DB-1C.P. Tool & Die0Did Not Finish
258Frederick MartelVan Diemen RF94Team Scalzo0Suspension

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.