The 1996 United States Formula Ford 2000 National Championship was co-sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America Pro Racing division and the United States Auto Club. The series enjoyed support from Ford SVO, Yokohama Tires, Sunoco Fuel and Racing Electronics.

Each event boasts a purse of $17,500, with the winner being awarded $5,000 – the series pays through to twentieth place. There is also a year-end points fund of $15,000. During the 1996 season, $225,000 will be presented.

The twelve race tour included events in the United States and Canada contested on ovals, road courses and temporary street circuits. The season starts in late January on the tri-oval at Walt Disney World Speedway. Teams remain in Florida for a race a month later on the temporary street circuit at St. Petersburg. In March, the series travels to Phoenix International Raceway to compete on the 1.0-mile oval. The championship returns four weeks later to battle on the road course. Next is the only stop in Canada for round five at Mosport Park. Returning to the United States drivers will race on the oval at Indianapolis Raceway Park. This is followed by another oval event located at Richmond International Raceway. The series only double-header weekend takes place at Watkins Glen International. Round ten is conducted at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The penultimate event of the year is held on the oval at New Hampshire International Speedway, with the finale taking place at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Cars in the series are manufactured by Van Diemen, Swift, Reynard and Piper. They are powered by a 2.0-liter four-cylinder overhead camshaft engine, which produces approximately 150-horsepower at 6,200-rpm. The fully-independent front and rear suspensions are equipped with adjustable sway bars and shock absorbers. The suspension attaches to a steel space frame chassis which is covered by an aerodynamic fiberglass body and wings mounted on the front and rear of the car. Thirteen-inch diameter wheels are used with a maximum width of six inches on the front and eight inches on the rear. The vehicles must weigh at least 1,175-lbs. with the driver.

The fifth round of the 1996 United States Formula Ford 2000 National Championship was held at Mosport Park as a support event for the Trans Am series. Competitors would race around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course for twenty laps.

Forty drivers prepare to receive the Starter’s flag for round five of the 1996 United States Formula Ford 2000 National Championship. The No. 18 Skilled / Valvoline / Revolution / Raceart Van Diemen RF96 of Jason Bright is on the pole. Beside Bright is Steve Knapp, also driving a Van Diemen RF96 with backing from the Miller Milling Company. The second row is occupied by the Van Diemen’s of Peter McLeod and Bruno Bianchi.
Australian Jason Bright put the No. 18 Skilled / Valvoline / Revolution / Raceart sponsored Van Diemen RF96 on the pole for round five at Mosport Park. Bright was victorious in race two of the season at St. Petersburg and qualified first in the previous event at Phoenix International Raceway. Despite pressure from the second fastest qualifier, Steve Knapp, Bright led the twenty-lap contest flag-to-flag.
Former Sports Car Club of America Amateur National Sports 2000 champion, Steve Knapp, campaigned the No. 85 Miller Milling Company Van Diemen RF96 in this year’s United States Formula Ford 2000 National Championship. In the first four events of the year, Knapp had collected three fifth-place results. At Mosport, he started second and chased the winner, Jason Bright, to a runner-up finish.
One of the many championship contenders was local racer Andrew Bordin. Bordin was entered in the No. 26 Bordin Racing Van Diemen RF95 with backing from the Canadian cigarette company Player’s Ltd. His record after four rounds included a podium result at St. Petersburg. At Mosport Park, Bordin gridded in the seventh position but using local track knowledge, he moved forward and finished in the third position.
In the first four rounds, the points leader, Sam Schmidt, has proved his driving skills on ovals, road courses and temporary street layouts. Schmidt won the oval events at Walt Disney World Speedway and Phoenix International Raceway. He almost captured his third victory at St. Petersburg and earned the last position on the rostrum at the Phoenix road course. He was not a factor at Mosport and finished eleventh.
Eight Canadians were entered in round five of the 1996 United States Formula Ford 2000 National Championship at Mosport Park. Andrew Bordin delivered the best result, but Bruno Bianchi and Rick Hayward also collected top ten results. The driver of the No. 79 Warden Automotive Van Diemen, Jonathan DeHaas, was gridded last but advanced nineteen positions to finish in the twenty-second spot.

11Jason BrightSkilled/Valvoline/Racear / Van Diemen RF9620
22Steve KnappMiller Milling Company / Van Diemen RF9620
37Andrew BordinBordin Racing Ltd. / Van Diemen RF9520
44Bruno BianchiKey Tours / Van Diemen RF9420
55Mark NoskeWhitpark / Van Diemen RF9620
610Matt SielskyEmerald Financial Group / Van Diemen RF9620
714Alex BarronAspen Knolls / Van Diemen RF9620
88Rick HaywardMartel Realty / Van Diemen RF9020
93Peter MacLeodParagon Technologies/Velocity Sports / Van Diemen RF9620
109Duncan DaytonHighcroft Racing / Van Diemen RF9620
1115Sam SchmidtArnet Sunglasses/Simpson/BG Lubricants / Van Diemen RF9620
1213David WebbTBA / Swift DB-620
1318Scott BradleyTBA / Van Diemen RF9620
1424Joaquin DeSotoDeneba Software / Van Diemen RF9620
1522Joey ScaralloR.O.H. Alloy Wheels / Van Diemen RF9520
1619Aaron HsuJ. Lofty / Van Diemen RF9420
1711Larry ConnorCM Properties/Elite Engines / Van Diemen RF9620
1827Jean-François GaulinInduspac / Van Diemen RF9520
1925Ric RushtonDSTP Motorsports / Van Diemen RF9620
2023Robby McGeheeHuntleigh/McGehee Inc. / Van Diemen RF9620
2132Jacek MuchaOrion / Van Diemen RF9620
22-Jonathan DehaasWarden Automotive / Van Diemen RF9020
2328Steve DjelebianKey Tours/Autosport Basi / Van Diemen RF9420
2431Jerry PetersenBurlington Development / Van Diemen RF9520
2538Cory WitherillWSA Health Care / Van Diemen RF9620
2635Joe FosterThe Racer's Market/Education on Track / Van Diemen RF9620
2729Mike JohnsonVan Diemen RF9620
2821Sam Hornish, Jr.Fountain City Leasing/Top Kart / Van Diemen RF9420
2936Ollie BesingerSlick Eyewear / Van Diemen RF9620
3017Chris FahanDSS Software/Fahan Paving / Van Diemen RF9520
3137Kim WindsorAspen Knolls Corp. / Van Diemen RF9620
326Nick HoltDesign 500 Racewear / Van Diemen RF9620
3316Don BurgoonPerformance Friction / Van Diemen RF9620
3429Jeff HorneLakeview Concrete / Van Diemen RF9520
3541Michael KerdesHolly's Woods & Streams / Piper DF-2C20
3640Richard EanesTBA / Van Diemen RF9620
3712Chris WinklerBOA Construction/Aerotech Welding / Van Diemen RF9620
3820Michael FitzgeraldKurt Manufacturing / Van Diemen RF9620
3934Bob WrightDownbast Sea Urchins/Amalie Oil / Swift DB-620
4033Chris BrownTBA / Van Diemen20

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.