1990 marked the twenty-fifth season of the Sports Car Club of America’s Trans Am Series. In 1989, the series returned to its roots as a championship for production-based North American vehicles – gone were the turbocharged Merkurs and all-wheel-drive Audis.

Trans Am rules require that vehicles to be constructed with a purpose-built tube frame chassis. The bodies are made of composites, such as carbon fiber, Kevlar and fiberglass. The rules stipulate that the cars should maintain the recognizable external features of the manufacturer's model while providing flares necessary to keep the tires inside the bodywork. SCCA Pro Racing uses body templates to ensure the shape of cars was within designated tolerances. Cars are required to use the stock windshield or an approved alternative, which has to be mounted in the original location and at the original angle. The rules also dictate the use of the stock taillights, which are often the only production parts on the vehicles. All cars are required to use an American-based engine. The rules allow a 335 cubic inch or 358 cubic inch 9:1 V8 engines with a car weight of 2700-lbs. Another choice is a V6 with a 275 cubic inch engine weighing 2500-lbs. But the most popular choice was a 310 cubic inch motor. All options must be fitted with a 4150 Holley carburetor.

The fifteen race season began in March on the Streets of Phoenix, followed by the purpose-built road course at Sears Point International Raceway. Next, drivers compete on temporary circuits at Addison, Texas and Detroit. Then teams travel to the west coast for an event at Portland International Raceway. Rounds six and seven sees the series are conducted on temporary layouts at Cleveland, Ohio and De Moines, Iowa. In August, the championship visits Watkins Glen International, Trois-Rivieres in Quebec, Canada and Denver, Colorado. Next on the schedule are three of North America’s most popular road courses Mosport Park, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and Road America. The championship ends on November 4 in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Round twelve of the 1990 SCCA Pro Racing Trans Am Series was held at Mosport Park. Drivers would compete in a fifty-lap contest around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round twelve for the 1990 SCCA Pro Racing Trans Am Series at Mosport Park. Leading the field of twenty-nine entrants into corner one is the pole-sitter, Tom Kendall, in the No. 01 ICI/Olivetti Chevrolet Beretta. Behind Kendall is the other front-row qualifier, Dorsey Schroeder driving the No. 1 Sisapa Ford Mustang. Trailing the leaders are the Ford Mustang of Ron Fellows and Les Lindley in a Chevrolet Camaro.
The 1989 Trans Am champion, Dorsey Schroeder, dominated last season, winning six of fourteen events. However, this year the driver of the No. 1 Sisapa Ford Mustang was yet to claim a victory. At Mosport, Schroeder missed securing the pole by 0.168-seconds and started second. By lap-3 of the race, he was in the lead and traded the top spot with Ron Fellows, Darren Brassfield and Les Lindley before capturing the win.
Finishing in the runner-up position was Darren Brassfield. Brassfield, who drove the No. 5 Neo Life Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme entered Mosport second in the championship. Brassfield tried a V8 engine in practice changed to a V6 for qualifying and the race. He would lead laps twenty and twenty-one but could not match the pace set by the winner, Dorsey Schroeder, and finished second by a margin of 6.477-seconds.
The defending race winner was local favourite Ron Fellows. Fellows missed the first race of the year when his sponsorship deal fell through. However, funding was found from AER and MacKenzie Financial, which made it possible for him to complete the remainder of the season. Fellows, driving the No. 47 Roush Ford Mustang, qualified fourth fastest. He would lead three laps and capture the final position on the podium.
Before Dorsey Schroeder’s victory at Mosport, Ford’s only bright spot during the 1990 season was Robert Lappalainen’s win in race one on the Streets of Phoenix. The Finn was campaigning the No. 4 John Player Special Ford Mustang out of the Roush Racing stable. Lappalainen was gridded tenth for the Mosport event. Late in the contest, he broke free of a battle with Max Jones and Les Lindley to finish fourth.
With five wins in eleven starts, Tom Kendall led the Trans Am championship by a comfortable margin. In fact, with four rounds remaining in the series, Kendall simply had to score twelve more points than Darren Brassfield to earn the title. At Mosport, he put the No. 01 Chevrolet Beretta on the pole but quickly slid down the order in the race. A flat tire and the resulting damage took him out of contention – Kendall finished fifteenth.

12Dorsey SchroederFord Mustang50-
212Darin BrassfieldOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme50-
34Ron FellowsFord Mustang50-
410Robert LappalainenFord Mustang50-
57Scott SharpOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme50-
69Chris KneifelChevrolet Beretta50-
715Jack BaldwinChevrolet Camaro50-
83Les LindleyChevrolet Camaro50-
95Irv HoerrOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme49-
1014Wayne AkersFord Mustang49-
1111Bob SobeyChevrolet Camaro49-
1217Dick DanielsonOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme49-
1319Lyn St. JamesFord Mustang49-
148Max JonesFord Mustang49-
151Tom KendallChevrolet Beretta49-
1618Mike KovacsChevrolet Camaro48-
1724Glenn FoxFord Mustang48-
1822Rick DittmanOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme48-
1920Jerry ClintonChevrolet Camaro48-
2025Donald SakOldsmobile Toronado48-
2121Jerry SimmonsChevrolet Corvette47-
2228Ed HinchliffFord Mustang47-
2323Peter DemanChevrolet Corvette46-
2427Tim TaylorChevrolet Camaro45-
2526Jeff JonesPontiac Trans Am38Oil Pump
2613Randy RuhlmanOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme34Electrical
2729Murray EdwardsChevrolet Camaro33Mechanical
286Paul GentilozziOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme17Steering
2916Jim DerhaagChevrolet Camaro13Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.