In 1988, RJR-MacDonald announced that they would sponsor next year’s Canadian F2000 Series under the Export A`s banner. The company`s commitment demonstrated its support of car racing and the development of Canadian racing drivers.

The season begins at Mosport Park during the Victoria Day Weekend. Next on the schedule is the first of three visits to Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant, Quebec. Then it is back to Ontario for round three at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Next is a unique event at Sanair Super Speedway where drivers race on a tri-oval. The series returns Mont-Tremblant for race number five. Back to Ontario, the series runs as a support event for the Toronto Star 24-Hours at Mosport. Still in Ontario, the championship visits Shannonville for a second time during the ProCar Weekend. The penultimate round is at Mosport, with the finale being held at Mont-Tremblant.

Cars in the Formula 2000 category are powered by a four-cylinder 2.0-liter overhead-camshaft Ford engine, which produces approximately 150-horsepower. Mounted to the engine is a Hewland Mk 9 gearbox with four forward speeds and one reverse. The single-seater chassis is a tubular spaceframe design fitted with an aluminum floor pan and fiberglass bodywork. The cars also use wings mounted at the front and rear. The whole package weighs just under 1,200-lbs.

The opening round of the 1990 Export A Formula 2000 Series was held at Mosport Park during the Victoria Day Weekend. Drivers would compete on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course in a twenty-lap contest.

The start of the opening round for the 1990 Export A F2000 Series at Mosport Park during the Victoria Day Weekend. Leading the field into corner one is the No. 12 Swift DB-6 of the pole-sitter, Jimmy Vasser. Behind Vasser is his teammate and the other front-row starter, Ken Murillo. Trailing the fastest qualifiers are Jack Arbess, Christian Vandal and Paul Tracy. Twenty-nine competitors started the twenty-lap contest.
Last year J.H. Racing, with backing from Lucas Films, entered a pair of Swift SE-3 for Californians Jimmy Vasser and Ken Murillo. The team delivered some excellent results but was no match for Falcon Racing. This season, they returned with two Swift DB-6. In the opening round at Mosport, Vasser qualified on the pole and his teammate Murillo was second. Murillo would grab the win while Vasser failed to finish.
After a two-year absence, Paul Tracy returned to the Canadian F2000 series driving the No. 8 AFCO Van Diemen RF90. This was a ‘one-off’ as Tracy had signed to compete in the 1990 American Racing Series Championship. His previous F2000 record included five podiums, of which two were victories. In the season opener, Tracy qualified fifth fastest. Passes on Christian Vandal and Jack Arbess gave him a second-place finish.
Capturing the final position on the podium for the opening round of the Export A F2000 Series at Mosport Park was Johnstown, New York’s Bobby Carville. After competing in the 1987 Barber Saab Pro Series, Carville joined the Export A F2000 Series. In 1989, he finished ninth in the final standings with a season-high fourth-place at Sanair. Driving the No. 78 Reynard 89SF at Mosport, Carville started tenth and finished third.
Gaining the most positions during round one at Mosport Park was the local driver Scott Maxwell. This was Maxwell’s fourth season in the series. He finished sixth in the final standings last year. Maxwell was gridded twenty-ninth, driving the No. 0 Landford Racing prepared Swift SE-3 with backing from STP. He charged through the field and after twenty laps, Maxwell had advanced twenty-four positions to finish fifth.
Last year the Export A entries of Claude Bourbonnais and Christian Vandal were a formidable combination. Bourbonnais captured the title with six victories. Vandal scored three wins and was the championship runner-up. Vandal returned to the team in 1990 and was joined by Craig Priddle in the No. 3 Falcon Racing prepared Reynard SF88. Vandal finished sixth in race one was Priddle was seventh.

1Ken MurilloSwift DB-6 / J.H. Racing20-
2Paul TracyVan Diemen RF90 / AFCO20-
3Bobby CarvilleReynard 89 SF / Shock Wave International20-
4Jack Daniel ArbessReynard 89SF / Menkes Developments20-
5Scott MaxwellSwift SE-3 / STP/Landford Racing/STP/Mini Grid20-
6Christian VandalReynard 90SF / Export A/Falcom Racing20-
7Craig PriddleReynard 88SF / Export A/Falcom Racing20-
8David WebbReynard 87SF / Webb Machine Design20-
9Ken GerhardtReynard 88SF / Competition Fiberglass20-
10Jonathan HoltzmanSwift DB-6 / J.H. Racing20-
11Rick HaywardVan Diemen RF90 / Terry Matel Real Estate20-
12Patrick LacasseReynard 90SF / Groupe Daniel20-
13David NevinReynard 88SF / -20-
14Bobby HaggertReynard 90SF / SRL Racing20-
15Michael SkiltonSwift SE-3 / Landford Racing/Beaver Lumber19-
16Don PriddleReynard 89SF / Priddle Motorsport19-
17Joseph IndovinaReynard 87SF / MacLaser Printing19-
18Norm MacNeilVan Diemen RF88 / Realty World19-
19Steve DjelebianReynard 87SF / Keytours Travel19-
20Winston BunnVan Diemen RF88 / Galaxy Caravans19-
21Wayne JenkinsReynard 86SF / -18-
22Jimmy VasserSwift DB-6 / J.H. Racing15-
23Larry ConnorReynard 88SF / Zenith Data Systems15Did Not Finish
24Dan PyanowskiCitation 88SF / Competition Data15Did Not Finish
25Peter JohantgenCitation 90SF / Citation Engineering11Did Not Finish
26Patrick CarpentierReynard 88SF / Gryphon Automation9Did Not Finish
27Christopher FahanReynard 88SF / Fahan Paving6Did Not Finish
28Gord CullenVan Diemen RF90 / Ethnic Ad Multilingual Agency0Did Not Finish
29Sam RyanReynard 87SF / Pope Racing Group0Did Not Finish
-Mark CruzReynard 84SF / Motion Dynamics-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.