The Kodak Copiers race at Watkins Glen for GTO and GTU cars was 92-lap event held in late September. There were fifty-two starters and thirty-four cars running at the finish. This was round fifteen for the GT cars with only two events remaining in the 1987 season – Columbus and Del Mar.

Coming into Watkins Glen the Driver and Manufacturer titles were yet to be decided although Chris Cord in GTO and Tom Kendall in GTU had commanding points leads. At the conclusion of this weekend, the pair had won their respective Driver’s titles. Cord efforts contributed to Toyota taking the Manufacturer’s title in the GTO class. The situation in GTU was similar - Kendall played a significant part in Mazda securing their championship.

Starting on the pole was the driver pairing of Greg Pickett and Tommy Riggins. Their Corvette was the class of the field qualifying 2.5-seconds quicker than the Ford Mustang of Scott Pruett and Tom Gloy. Behind them were title contenders Jack Baldwin and Chris Cord.
Willy T. Ribbs failed to qualify the All American Racers Toyota Celica Turbo due to flywheel failure in practice. However, he took the lead on lap-35 and never looked back. He was followed to the checkered flag by his teammate Chris Cord. Ribbs and Cord drove Toyota Celica Turbos entered by Dan Gurney’s All American Racers. A third entry was shared by Dennis Aase and Juan Fangio II.
Qualifying on the GTU pole was point’s leader Tom Kendall. However, it was fourth fastest qualifier Amos Johnson in a Mazda RX-7 that secured the class victory. In the process, Johnson set the fastest race lap but the second place by Tom Kendall was enough to give him the Driver’s Championship.
The leaders enter turn two for the only full-course caution of the race. The yellow flag period occurred when a suspension failure caused local driver Clint Welding to crash his Chevrolet Camaro.
The Peerless/Hendrick Chevrolet Camaro of Jack Baldwin suffered a rear hub problem during the race. The team managed to make repairs which allowed Baldwin to finish fifteenth in GTO. This result ended Baldwin’s hope of winning the championship.
George Alderman and Max Jones qualified Alderman’s Nissan 300ZX Turbo third in the GTU class. The team led early in the race but numerous pit-stops to correct fuel problems resulted in a thirteenth place finish.
The Protofab prepared Chevrolet Corvette was shared by Pickett and Riggins. The car was powered by a Ryan Falconer built turbocharged V6 and proved to be very quick. Pickett had a comfortable lead when the Corvette began stalling this contributed to the car's retirement.
The No. 22 Ford Mustang was shared by Scott Pruett and Tom Gloy. A transmission problem just prior to the start of the race was repaired by the Roush crew. But they were unable to secure the transmission cover and Pruett had to endure heat and fumes from the engine until the first pit-stop.
Lyn St. James – seen in turn one – qualified the Roush prepared Ford Mustang in ninth. An on-track incident caused her to lose car’s front bodywork. This caused the Mustang to overheat and the car was retired on lap-54.
Driving the No. 21 Bodymotion Racing Porsche Carrera was Mike Bavaro. Bavaro started twentieth overall and fifteenth in GTO. He ran a steady race completing 84-laps to finish eleventh in class.

1GTOWilly T. RibbsToyota Celica TurboAll American Racers92-
2GTOChris CordToyota Celica TurboAll American Racers92-
3GTOGloy / PruettFord MustangRoush Racing91-
4GTOKneifel / AdamChevrolet CamaroProtofab Racing91-
5GTOBob EarlPontiac FieroDingman Bros Racing90-
6GTOJenner / AkinFord MustangRoush Racing90-
7GTOVincentz / BauerPorsche 930Electrodyne Performance89-
8GTOMandeville / MarshMazda RX-7Mandeville Auto Tech88-
9GTUAmos JohnsonMazda RX-7Team Highball87-
10GTUKendall / KendallMazda RX-7Clayton Cunningham Racing86-
11GTUAl BaconMazda RX-7Al Bacon Racing85-
12GTUJohn MortonMazda RX-7Clayton Cunningham Racing85-
13GTOBupp / TaylorChevrolet CamaroSentry Bank Equipment85-
14GTOKimbrough / PerkinsonChevrolet CamaroOrm Engines84-
15GTOMike BavaroPorsche CarreraBodymotion Racing84-
16GTODoug MillsChevrolet CamaroCumberland Valley Racing83-
17GTUReed KryderNissan 300ZXKryderacing83-
18GTULively / HaynesNissan 280ZX-82-
19GTUHendricks / JonesPorsche 914-6Dynamic Air Condition81-
20GTUAltman / AltmanPorsche 914-6Altman Bros Motor Racing81-
21GTUBroomall / EvansDodge Daytona-80-
22GTUPaul RomanoMazda RX-7Simms Romano Enterprise78DNF
23GTOAase / Fangio IIToyota Celica TurboAll American Racers76DNF
24GTOFariss / WilliamsChevrolet Camaro-66DNF
25GTOJack BaldwinChevrolet CamaroPeerless/Hendrick66-
26GTUDurkheimer / VollumPorsche 911Escort Racing64DNF
27GTUDembs / DembsMazda RX-7-59DNF
28GTUAlderman / JonesNissan 300ZX-TAlderman Nissan57-
29GTUChilsen / DawePorsche 924-56DNF
30GTOLyn St. JamesFord MustangRoush Racing54DNF
31GTOKicak / VolkChevrolet CorvetteDavid Kicak51-
32GTOMcCall / BohrenChevrolet CamaroSkoal Bandit Racing49DNF
33GTUGreer / MeesMazda RX-7Dick Greer Racing38DNF
34GTOPickett / RigginsChevrolet CorvetteProtofab Racing36DNF
35GTUBob LeitzingerNissan 300ZXLeitzinger Racing30DNF
36GTUChurch / ChurchMazda RX-7-29DNF
37GTUFred ApgarPorsche 911-27DNF
38GTUPaul HaasPorsche 924Innovon Motorsport16DNF
39GTUDick MurrayPontiac FieroMurray Racing4DNF
40GTOClint WeldingChevrolet Camaro-3DNF

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.