The 1984 Canadian Sport Car Clubs National event at Shannonville Motorsport Park was patterned after the Sports Car Club of America’s Runoffs. A single race shootout was used to determine the Canadian National Champions. Races were held on the weekend of October 6 - 7.

Twenty-lap contests around the six turn 1.8-kilometer road course were conducted for the following groups:

  • Grand Touring 1 (GT1)
  • Grand Touring 2 (GT2)
  • Grand Touring 3 (GT3)
  • Formula 2000
  • Formula 1600
  • Formula Vee
  • Formula 4
  • Sports Racing
  • Superkart
  • Honda / Michelin

A total of 130 drivers would compete for the ten National titles.

The weekend also featured the final rounds of the Honda Michelin TRX Challenge and Canadian Tire Formula 2000 Championship. In addition, there was a Vintage race and a 1.5-hour endurance contest.

Eighteen F1600 competitors receive the Starter’s flag and charge into Shannonville Motorsport Park’s corner one. Leading the field is the No. 98 Crossle 50F of the second-fastest qualifier, Jonathan Schofield. However, it would be the pole-sitter, Patrick Robitaille, driving the No. 27 Van Diemen RF83 that would capture the title. Peter Souch in a Zink Z-16 and David Payne driving a Crossle 45F completed the podium.
Initially, there was only one car entered in the GT1 category at the Nationals, the No. 76 True North Racing Chevrolet Corvette of Jerry Simmons. However, Simmons made his older No. 43 Corvette available to fellow Hamilton Motor Sport Club member Jack Rosewell. There were brake issues with the car. However, Rosewell was able to finish the race. Albeit three-laps behind Simmons.
The start of the highly anticipated GT2 contest. Taking the early lead is the No. 3 Air Jamaica sponsored Mazda RX-3 of the pole-sitter, Dave Diedrick. On the outside of Diedrick is the second-fastest qualifier, Richard Spenard, in the No. 99 Dicom Express Volkswagen Scirocco. Chasing the leaders is the No. 36 Zaveco Datsun 200SX driven by Claude Gou and Tom Campbell’s No. 8 Datsun F10.
Sports car racing veteran Richard Spenard was enlisted to drive the No. 99 Dicom Express sponsored Volkswagen Scirocco. Spenard was gridded on the outside of the front row for the twenty-lap GT2 National Championship at Shannonville Motorsport Park. He passed the Mazda RX-3 of the pole-sitter, Dave Diedrick and won the category by a comfortable margin of 22.828-seconds.
Local racer Dave Diedrick put the No. 3 Air Jamaica Mazda RX-3 on the pole for this year’s National GT2 event. Despite starting in the top spot, it became evident during the race that Diedrick was no match for the No. 99 Volkswagen Scirocco of Quebec’s Richard Spenard. The Ontario Region GT2 champion would finish second but have the consolation of recording the fastest race lap.
Eleven GT3 competitors follow the front row starters, Jim Todd (No. 26 Triumph Spitfire) and Lew MacKenzie (No. 68 MG Midget), into corner one at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Chasing the leaders are the No. 80 DelPero Racing Alfa Romeo 1300 GTA of the third-fastest qualifier Fred DelPero and Alan Crout, who started fourth in the No. 44 Mini Cooper S.
Edmonton, Alberta’s Fred DelPero was third fastest during the GT3 qualifying session. The driver of the No. 80 Ital Motors / DelPero Racing Alfa Romeo 1300 GTA had two previous National Championship starts and won on both occasions. Delpero would earn a ‘hat trick’ as the front row qualifiers, Jim Todd and Lew MacKenzie, fell out of contention.
Former Formula 1600 competitor Jeff Wright was entered in the Sports Racing class driving the No. 101 CHFX 101.3 FM sponsored Royale S2000. Wright finished in the runner-up position at last season’s Canadian Road Race of Champions but won the title in 1980, driving a Lola T-492. This season the competitor from Halifax would start on the outside of the front row and finish second by a margin of 0.380-seconds.
Sixteen Honda / Michelin drivers line-up on Shannonville Motorsport Park’s front straight early in their National Championship race. Leading the pack is Pierrefonds, Quebec’s Lindsay Riddell. Riddell would start on the pole and claim the National title. He was followed by Fabrizio Patuelli and Terry DiFrancesco. Riddell also won the final round of the Honda Michelin TRX Challenge and finished third in the standings.
It was a doubleheader weekend for F2000 teams. They had the opportunity to compete in the final round of the Canadian Tire Formula 2000 Series and the F2000 National Championship Peter Lockhart won the final round of the Canadian Tire series, but it was John Jones who won the title. Bertrand Fabi captured the National Championship. Rob Galbraith in the No. 30 Reynard grabbed a pair of seventh-place results.
The National event attracted a healthy field of Vintage competitors, including the 1960 Sadler of Jack Boxstrom. The Sadler Formula Libre was the creation of Canadian Bill Sadler. The 283-cubic inch Chevrolet V8-powered car made its debut in 1960 at Watkins Glen International. At this year’s Vintage event, Shannonville track owner, Boxstrom, retired after just three laps.

GT1Jerry Simmons / CorvetteJack Rosewell / Corvette-
GT2Richard Spenard / VW SciroccoDave Diedrick / Mazda RX-3George Commachio / Alfa Romeo
GT3Fred Del Pero / Alfa Romeo 1300 GTAAlan Crout / Mini Cooper SPhil Cooper / Mini Cooper S
Formula 2000Bertrand Fabi / Reynard SF84Peter Lockhart / Reynard SF84Serge Beaudin / Reynard SF84
Formula 1600Patrick Robitaille / Van Diemen RF83Peter Souch / Zink Z-16David Payne / Crossle 45F
Formula VeeScott Maxwell / Lynx BPaul Shermet / WarriorCam Youngs / Lynx B
Formula 4Stuart Lamont / XpitRobert Long / XpitRichard Walker / Phoenix MK 3C
Sports RacingMichael Hurley / Mallock MK17Jeff Wright / Royale S2000Ron Gray / Titan RG1
SuperkartJim Wolff / Zip GPRobert Stewart / Klotz SpecialDonald Bush / Dino Rotax
Honda/MichelinLindsay RiddellFabrizio PatuelliTerry DiFrancesco

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.