In 1982, Mosport hosted two rounds of the Can Am series. The first was on June 7th and the second on September 12th. The September event was the sixth of the nine races series. With only three events remaining – Caesar’s Palace, Riverside and Laguna Seca - the points chase was on between Al Unser Jr. and Al Holbert with Danny Sullivan as a long-shot. In the end, Unser and Holbert shared the same number of wins – four each – but Unser scored more points – 540 to Holbert’s 500. In the under two-liter class Bertil Roos won the title driving a Marguey CA82. He had three class wins and finished an incredible third overall at Road America.

A 20-year-old Al Unser Jr. qualified on the pole at a 1:10.399 which was a new Can Am qualifying record at Mosport. At the start, he jumped into the lead driving a perfect 60-lap race. This was his third win of the season and gave him the points lead going into the final three races of the 1982 season.
Moss corner midway through the race and Danny Sullivan in the No. 5 March 827 prepares to put a lap on No. 33 Osella PA9 of Jacques Villeneuve and Roman Pechmann in a Lola T-290.
On Friday Al Holbert broke Teo Fabi’s qualifying record, however, he fell to second after Saturday’s session. Holbert ran second in the race until he spun on the ninth-lap. An attempt to catch Danny Sullivan in the final laps resulted in Holbert hitting the pit wall but he was able to continue and finish third.
Entering the Canadian rounds Danny Sullivan had his Newman/Budweiser March 827 lightened by 150-pounds and the ground-effects reworked. He qualified third for the race and when Holbert spun he inherited second where he would remain until the conclusion of the event.
In 1982 Rex Ramsey, an experienced F5000 racer drove the ex-VDS Lola T-530. He finished seventh at Mosport's September event. He was ninth in the final standings with his best finish of the season a fourth at Road Atlanta.
Finishing fifth was Jim Crawford in a converted Formula 1 car. The car was based on a 1981 Ensign N180B and powered by a 3-liter Ford Cosworth DFV. Crawford joined the series at the previous round in Trois Rivieres after capturing the 1982 British Formula 1 championship.
Ed Wachs drove the Ausca Ralt RT-2 to a win the under two-liter category and finish eighth overall. This was quite an accomplishment as he qualified fourteenth overall and started behind Bertil Roos, Jim Trueman and Jacques Villeneuve Sr.
Driving an Osella PA9 powered by a BMW engine was Jacques Villeneuve Sr. He finished third in the under two-liter class a lap behind Ed Wachs and Jim Trueman.
The Red Roof Inns sponsored March 822 was driven by Jim Trueman. Trueman was the second quickest qualifier in the under two-liter class and he finished ninth overall and second to Ed Wachs in the smaller displacement category.

1-Al Unser, Jr.Frissbee GR3 Galles Racing60-
2-Danny SullivanMarch 827Paul Newman60-
3-Al HolbertVDS-001VDS Racing Team60-
4-John MortonFrissbeeCGI-Daffy57-
5-Jim CrawfordEnsign N180BAnco Racing57-
6-John KalagianFrissbeeKalagian-Ardisana Racing56-
7-Rex RamseyLola T-530Ramsey Solution56-
8U2LEddie WachsRalt RT-2Ausca International55-
9U2LJim TruemanMarch 822Red Roof Inns55-
10-Robb WoltringLola T-332Western Fleet55-
11-Horst KrollLola T-332Kroll Racing54-
12-John GrahamMarch 811Gordon Lightfoot Racing54-
13U2LJacques Villeneuve, Sr.Osella PA9Canadian Tire Racing54-
14U2LCharles MonkMarch 802Monk Racing53-
15U2LRoman PechmannLola T-290Pechmann Racing52-
16U2LJerry MolnarInvader 001Lou Infante Motoracing49-
17U2LCliff DawsonBrabham BT38Rodeo Jeans43Unknown
18-Frank JoyceHolbert CAC-2TRW Corporation Phantom43Unknown
19U2LPaul MaceyLola T-294GPS Racing40Unknown
20U2LBill BlackledgeRalt RT-2Elite Racing33Unknown
21U2LScott GoodyearCicale Ralt RT-1Midland Racing24Unknown
22-Michael BraytonLola T-530Lutzoff Automotive23Unknown
23U2LBertil RoosMarguey CA82Elite Racing11Engine
24U2LLuc BeharChevron B26Garo Racing5Unknown

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.