A highlight for Grand Touring competitors in Quebec since 1978 was an opportunity to compete on Circuit Gilles Villeneuve during the Canadian Grand Prix weekend.

In 1982, the event was round two of the FAQ Production championship for GT2 and GT3 cars. However, the race attracted a large number of entries from Ontario and the Northeastern United States.

Before the championship visited Montreal, the season started with two races at Sanair during the final weekend of May. After Montreal, competitors returned to Sanair for four consecutive doubleheader events. Round seven, the penultimate contest of the year, was held on the Labour Day weekends at Trois-Rivieres. The season ended in early October at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The GT2 and GT3 class cars competing in the FAQ championship were production-based sedans and sports cars. Engine displacement and performance potential were the deciding factors as to which category each make and model of vehicle would compete. GT2 was for the larger engine cars – greater than 1.3-liters but not exceeding 2.4-liters. The engine displacement for a GT3 vehicle could not exceed 1.3-liters. There were some exceptions that were addressed by carburetor restrictions or the addition of ballast.

Round two of the FAQ Production championship for GT2 and GT3 was held a Circuit Gilles Villeneuve during the Canadian Grand Prix weekend. Drivers would compete in a ten-lap race around the nineteen-turn 4.410-kilometer course.

Scott McColl’s racing resume includes a couple of different makes and models. In 1981, he replaced his MGB with a Datsun 710, which contributed to two victories and the FAQ GT2 Championship. In the opening round this season, at Sanair, the driver of the No. 66 Zeke’s Performance Datsun 710 collected a victory and fourth-place finish. At Montreal, McColl qualified by captured another victory after starting third.
Winning the GT3 category at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve was Guy Fontaine. Fontaine, who campaigned the No. 25 Honda Civic, had a pair of fourth-place finishes in his previous trips to Montreal. He failed to start the first two races of 1982 at Sanair. It didn’t appear that his luck had changed in round two when he failed to record a qualifying time. Gridded thirty-second, Fontaine charged through the field for the victory.
Ontario region competitors were expected to challenge the Quebec drivers and contend for class victories; however, this never materialized. The best result delivered by a GT2 driver from Ontario was Brian Cullingford, who piloted the No. 11 Triumph TR7. Cullingford qualified twenty-first overall. A steady drive that included avoiding on-track incidents netted him a ninth-place finish in GT2.
Another driver from Ontario anticipated to be a threat for the GT3 class victory was Lew Mackenzie. Mackenzie drove the No. 68 Kimdora Racing MG Midget. In the qualifying session, he set the eighteenth fastest time – fourth quickest in GT3. During the race, an off-course excursion damaged the MG, but he was able to continue and finish sixteenth overall and fifth in class – the best result for an Ontario GT3 driver.
Big things were expected from the No. 82 Almost Racing Datsun 510 entered by Chris Karatzoglou. Karatzoglou was a winner of GT2 events in Ontario. He was the twentieth fastest in the qualifying session when his engine failed. Without a spare motor, Karatzoglou was unable to start the race. Other drivers from Ontario that could not participate in Sunday’s contest included Jim Best, Gary Rosewell and Drew Fesar.
The No. 94 Auto Hammer sponsored Volkswagen Rabbit of Marco Theodoli was fast but not always reliable. Theodoli ended last season with four GT2 victories, but his record also included three DNFs or DNSs. He opened 1982 with a victory and third-place finish at Sanair. Theodoli qualified fourth a Circuit Gilles Villeneuve but passes by Barry Custeau, Gerard Gervais and Andre Thibault resulted in a fifth-place finish.
The No. 7 Alpine A110 was entered by Gilles St-Pierre. Alpine is a French company that has been manufacturing performance cars since 1955. The A110 model was produced from 1963 to 1977. St-Pierre’s Alpine competed in the GT2 category and was powered by a four-cylinder 1.6-liter engine. He qualified eleventh fastest at Montreal. Unfortunately, he retired on the first lap.

13GT2Scott McCollDatsun 71010-
25GT2Barry CusteauDatsun 51010-
31GT2Yvon CharetteLotus Cortina10-
46GT2Gerard GervaisDatsun 51010-
59GT2Andre ThibaultPorsche 91110-
64GT2Marco TheodolVW Rabbit10-
78GT2Willy LewisSaab V410-
816GT2Marco Tonci-OttieriVW Scirocco10-
932GT3Guy FontaineHonda Civic10-
1021GT2Brian CullingfordTriumph TR710-
1123GT2Ken TaitMGB10-
1219GT2Claude GirouxMGB10-
1330GT3Claude HoudeMini Cooper S10-
1424GT3Bill BrownleeMini Cooper S10-
1528GT3Phil CooperMini Cooper S10-
1618GT3Lew MackenzieMG Midget10-
1727GT3Andre L'HeureuxFiat X-1/99-
1825GT2Lloyd ServiceFiat 1249-
1936GT3Michael ConboyDatsun B2109-
2029GT2Serge GauvinMercury Capri9-
212GT2Robert ViningDatsun 7109-
2214GT3Ted PhenixMini Cooper S7-
2315GT3Bruce KitchenDatsun 12005-
2412GT2Daniel PieluchMercury Capri5-
2534GT3Serge EmondMini Cooper S5-
2633GT2Robert SaundersMGB5-
2731GT2Robert CurryBMW 20024Did Not Finish
2840GT2Denis LaroseDatsun 5103Did Not Finish
2917GT3Harry Van DintherDatsun 12002Did Not Finish
307GT2Paul WheatleyMGB2Did Not Finish
3126GT3Pierre KittsFiat2Did Not Finish
3222GT2Luigi LazzariFiat 1242Did Not Finish
33DNQGT2Randy ForteyTriumph1Did Not Finish
3413GT3Gilles LazureMini Cooper S1Did Not Finish
35DNQGT3Arthur H. DavisTriumph Spitfire1Did Not Finish
3611GT2Gilles St-PierreAlpine Renault1Did Not Finish
3710GT2Wilson SouthamFord Capri-Did Not Start
3820GT2Chris KaratzoglouDatsun 510-Did Not Start
3935GT2Jim BestDatsun 510-Did Not Start
4037GT2Gary RosewellDatsun 510-Did Not Start
4138GT2Drew FesarMGB-Did Not Start
4239GT3Richard PaquetteMini Cooper S-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.